Book Signing at Turn the Page with Nora Roberts, et al.

Sidewalk in front of Nora Roberts' bookstore

Dark Light of Day Promo Poster

Display window at Turn the Page. I LOVED the DLOD poster my publicist made for the signing and sent ahead! (Thanks, Brad!)

Book Signing at Turn the Page in Boonsboro, Md

This past Saturday I participated in a once-in-a-lifetime multi-author event at Turn the Page bookstore in Boonsboro, Maryland with Nora Roberts and four other authors. The “once-in-a-lifetime” remark referring to me, of course, because Nora does these events quite frequently! Still, this one felt special. In addition to the fans, there were artists out painting on the sidewalk and at least two news crews present. Click here to read more about the local artists en plein air painting during the signing. Click here for a quick 50 second pre-signing video interview of me by romance writer and blogger, Sara Humphreys.

Romance book signing in Boonsboro, Maryland

Multi-Author Event at Turn the Page Bookstore

Turn the Page is Nora’s own bookstore. It’s managed by the wonderful Janeen Solberg and stocks every title Nora has ever written (over 200!), local history books, autographed books (including Dark Light of Day now), and gifts. Nora was signing The Perfect Hope, which is the third book in her Inn BoonsBoro Trilogy, inspired by the bed and breakfast that Nora renovated. The Inn BoonsBoro is right across the street from the bookstore. Each room is named, themed, and appropriately decorated based on a famous romance couple from literature (for example, Marguerite and Percy from The Scarlett Pimpernel; Elizabeth and Darcy from Pride and Prejudice; and Eve and Roarke from the “In Death” novels).

The town of Boonsboro is charming. I only had time for a quick coffee at the Icing Bakery & Cafe, but my friends met up at Dan’s Restaurant & TapHouse for drinks and a bite to eat while they waited for their ticket time. (Yep, there were that many fans at the signing. Over 300 people came! Luckily, the bookstore is used to managing large crowds and Nora’s readers were patient about waiting, excited to meet her, and as enthusiastic to be a part of the event as the rest of us. We authors ate well too. Janeen and her staff ordered pizza from Vesta’s for us. :-D)

Dark Light of Day book signing at Turn the Page

Great Friends

As with my book signing at New York Comic Con, I was incredibly lucky to have a pack of girlfriends come for the event. Some of these ladies woke up at 7:00 a.m. and drove nearly two hours to attend the book signing. They were as thrilled as I was about the event and had just as good a time.
Jill Archer and friends at book signing

Jill Archer and friends at Boonsboro book signing

Jill Archer signing copies of Dark Light of Day

Terrific Authors

In addition to Nora Roberts and me, there were four other authors at the signing:

  • Sara Humphreys: Author of Unleashed and the Amoveo Legend books (“What if you suddenly discovered your own powers were beyond anything you’d ever imagined…”)
  • Addison Fox: Author of Warrior Enchanted (“Their power: a millenia-old force derived from the zodiac; Their mission: Protect humanity from the darkest of evils.”)
  • S.A. Van: Author of CounterPlay (“Deceit and obsession have met their match.”)
  • Katrina Shelley: Author of Timeless Melody (a time travel Civil War romance featuring heroine Lyric Taylor)

I bought signed books from each of them, and Nora Roberts/J.D. Robb, which I’ll use for future giveaways — so, even if you weren’t able to make it, you’ll still have a chance to win some of the signed books that were being offered at the event.

Book signing at Turn the Page

Jill Archer, Addison Fox, and Sara Humphreys

Author book signing in Boonsboro, Maryland

Jill Archer and Nora Roberts

Wanna see a fun wrap up video montage of the event put together by Sara Humphreys? Click here. This is the LAST WEEK I’ll be posting about Dark Light of Day. I’m wrapping up the blog tour and will be awarding tour-wide prizes next week!

Have you hosted or attended any good book signings lately? Have you been to Boonsboro, Maryland? Do you like small towns? How about cozy bookstores and historic inns in small towns? (Who doesn’t, right?) I hope everyone had a good weekend. I know some people are still struggling to recover from Hurricane Sandy. I was glad the marathon was called off and that more people have power now. If you haven’t already, consider donating to one of these relief organizations (or your own favorite): Red Cross, United Way, Salvation Army, or the Humane Society. I already gave to the Red Cross, but I’d love to give to the Humane Society too. If you’re an animal lover and want to add to my contribution, just post a comment below. I’ll donate an extra dollar for every comment left until midnight E.S.T. November 13, 2012, up to $50.00. (I don’t think I’ve ever had 50 comments on a post! Who knows? This could be the one!  :-D)

About Jill Archer

Jill Archer is the author of the Noon Onyx series, genre-bending fantasy novels including DARK LIGHT OF DAY, FIERY EDGE OF STEEL, and WHITE HEART OF JUSTICE. View all posts by Jill Archer

15 responses to “Book Signing at Turn the Page with Nora Roberts, et al.

  • Command Performance | The Unending Reading List

    [...] Book Signing at Turn the Page with Nora Roberts, et al. (jillarcherauthor.wordpress.com) [...]

  • Ashlyn Chase

    What an exciting event! I’m envious, but happy for you at the same time.

  • Carla Richards

    Ooh now I have a new dream holiday destination. I want to stay in the Mr. Darcy room!!

    • Jill Archer

      Hi Carla, if I’m ever in Boonsboro for the night, that’s where I’m staying. Everyone I’ve talked to who has stayed at the Inn BoonsBoro has had such complimentary things to say. Thanks for the comment!

  • det112406

    What a great day it was, Jill! So exciting! Hannah and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and we will look forward to your next one. In addition to your book, I also had a couple signed from Nora Roberts for my Mom. Come to find out, I chose the wrong Mom! When I went to my parents house this past week, I learned that my Step Mom is a HUGE fan and collector. Darn!!
    Congrats again, Jill. We are so happy for you. As you know, I am a big fan of Noon and Ari…

    • Jill Archer

      Thank you, Di! It was wonderful having you there. I’m so grateful for your support and enthusiasm!

      Now that you know where Turn the Page is you could always go back for some more signed books. I think Nora said her next event there is in April. Not sure when your step mom’s b-day is, but signed books make great gifts! :-D

  • Lisa Kessler

    What a cool experience!!!! Congratulations Jill!!! :)

    Hope you sold lots of books!

    Lisa :)

    • Jill Archer

      Thanks, Lisa! I sold more than I thought I would (although nowhere near as many as Nora Roberts did—as if! :-)) But, for me, the value of participating was the experience itself.

  • Shamus

    Those pictures and your description make it out to be an awesome day, Jill. I’ve been through a few places that were “Hometown USA” too, and I thought each was outstanding. And as to your end note about Hurricane Sandy, I’ve been working in the devestated areas this past week. It will be years before our shore is close to the way it was. Even the smallest piece of damage brought by the storm has a cleanup time measured in hours. For some of the seriously damaged areas I just think, “Where do we even start?” And of course, criminals of all sorts are moving into the area to take what they can get. People in the hard-hit areas need more than well wishes, and your donation to the Red Cross will surely provide some concrete help to someone who needs it.

    • Jill Archer

      It’s really sad. I haven’t seen the devastation first hand, but just seeing the pictures is enough. Tragically, it reminds me of Katrina (although, thankfully, Sandy wasn’t as deadly). I’m sure your days are incredibly challenging. Get some rest when you can.

  • Casey Wyatt

    Awesome Jill!! It’s exciting to see Sara there too! She’s a member of my RWA chapter.

    And it’s awesome donating to the Humane Society. We adopt all our pets from shelters. Go Jill! I’ll be posting this on my FB page too.

  • Megan Mitcham

    How amazing, Jill! The signing, the town, and the company all sound too good to be true. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

