Book Recommendation: The Spirit Keeper by K.B. Laugheed

A story for readers who enjoy emotional journeys and adventurous tales, K.B. Laugheed’s THE SPIRIT KEEPER is historical fiction that would likely appeal to fans of Kathleen O’Neal Gear and W. Michael Gear’s “People Books” (the First North Americans) and Jean Auel fans. I also think the book would appeal to fantasy romance readers and upper YA readers who are looking for something outside of their genres to try.

There’s no fantasy in The Spirit Keeper, but there’s lots of spirituality. The main character, Katie O’Toole, is an unlucky child, as she herself explains to us in the first few pages. The thirteenth child of abusive Irish immigrant parents, Katie nonetheless tries to be dutiful even as she wishes for a different life. That chance is offered to her when her home is raided in March of 1747. Two Native Americans traveling with the raiding party take her captive, but then give her a choice: stay with them and fulfill a great destiny or return to a family that, at best, is indifferent to her very existence.

Her companions call her the Creature of Fire and Ice. After all, Katie has fiery red hair and ice blue eyes. But her looks are not what makes her special. Despite her horrid childhood, Katie has a deep and personal sense of what is right and wrong and a vast, almost limitless, ability to love. The story is as much a journey of hearts and spirits as it is bodies. And, of course, the author part of me appreciated Laugheed’s take on perception, reality, truth, knowledge… and storytelling.

After finishing the book, I immediately searched for the next, which I couldn’t find. Laugheed’s website is vague about a sequel (“if you loved Part I–have faith. Sooner or later, I’m sure you’ll have a chance to read the whole story!!”) but I’ll say this— even if there isn’t a sequel, Laugheed provides a very satisfying ending.

What’s everyone else reading? Anything you want to recommend?

My neglected TBR pile (which includes a brief paragraph on why The Spirit Keeper caught my attention)

Best wishes and happy reading, everyone! :-D

About Jill Archer

Jill Archer is the author of the Noon Onyx series, genre-bending fantasy novels including DARK LIGHT OF DAY, FIERY EDGE OF STEEL, and WHITE HEART OF JUSTICE. View all posts by Jill Archer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: