White Heart of Justice: Great PW Review!

Publishers Weekly gave White Heart of Justice a wonderful review:

“High stakes and powerful magic collide in the third installment of the Noon Onyx series…. Noon’s voice is wry and genuine, encompassing her sharp sense of self. Some of the major conflict scenes are succinctly and sparsely written; the emotional journey for Noon is far more of the focus, along with the excellent world-building readers have come to expect from Archer.” Publishers Weekly

I love this review! I’m flattered to receive praise from a publication I admire. I also think it’s a great summary of what readers can expect to find in the book. I chuckled when I saw the “succinctly and sparsely written” comment about my major conflict scenes. This book is the shortest of the three and I spent months trying to determine if and where I could/should beef it up. I even drafted a number of additional scenes, which were later cut during editing (more on that later perhaps; too much of a spoiler now). My point is that not once did I consider (until seeing this review) bulking up the major action scenes. Because it’s true — the heart of these stories is Noon’s emotional journey. I build every book around a central question and that central question is directly related to Noon’s inner character development. That said, *I* think the action scenes are great. They’re just the way I like them. ;-) But if you’re looking for epic battles and will settle for nothing less, the Noon Onyx series may not be the fantasy series for you. If you are looking for an emotional journey in a really dramatic, unique fantasy setting, however, then check it out! :-D

Click here for Publishers Weekly‘s review of Fiery Edge of Steel.

A big thanks to PW, RT Book Reviews, and everyone else out there for their interest in the series and for taking the time to write thoughtful reviews.

What’s up for this week? Tomorrow, another guest blogger and Friday, another Disney post. In between… not sure yet… depends on what I have time for. HAPPY MONDAY, ALL!

About Jill Archer

Jill Archer is the author of the Noon Onyx series, genre-bending fantasy novels including DARK LIGHT OF DAY, FIERY EDGE OF STEEL, and WHITE HEART OF JUSTICE. View all posts by Jill Archer

4 responses to “White Heart of Justice: Great PW Review!

Leave a Reply

