Stacey Brutger's Electric Storm is Available Now
Stacey Brutger, author of ELECTRIC STORM, is kicking off my 2012 Spring Into Summer Romance Book Blast. Stacey is from the “back of beyond” in Minnesota and loves it. As she puts it, “Cable would be nice, but that’s why they created satellite, right?” I asked her (as I’ll be asking all my guest bloggers) to tell us something unique about herself or her book that she hasn’t yet shared with readers. Her answer? She confided that she’s a confirmed and happy “pantser.” Stacey said:

I don’t plot. If I want to find out how my book ends, I have to sit down and write it. It makes writing both an adventure and a pain when the characters won’t do what I want. 🙂

I also have to add (because I was doing a little snooping around on Stacey’s website) that she has a bigger TBR pile than I do!! (I didn’t think that was possible!) Check it out:

Wow! Stacey could probably start her own lending library or local bookstore, huh? Book lovers, are you jealous? I know I am! 🙂

Stacey’s here to talk about how she discovered the urban fantasy genre and her new book, ELECTRIC STORM. She’s also giving away a $5.00 Amazon gift card to one lucky commenter. To enter the drawing, just comment below anytime from now until Tuesday, April 24th, at midnight EST. Details on how to contact Stacey or purchase ELECTRIC STORM are below.

Urban Fantasy, A Deliciously Dark Discovery by Stacey Brutger

Paranormal creatures have exploded in the book market in the last fifteen years. Magic, vampires, werewolves, angels and demons…you name it and people wrote about them. I devoured these books. Then I accidently stumbled on an urban fantasy in my stack of paranormal romance and fell in love.

I scoured the shelves everywhere and found the following authors (some of my favorites): Devon Monk, Marjorie Liu, Faith Hunter, Nalini Singh, JR Ward, Ilona Andrews, Diana Pharaoh Francis, Lili St. Crow, Karen Chance, Laurell K Hamilton and so many more.

There is something deliciously dark about the urban fantasy genre. It pushes the characters to their limits to survive and further if they want a chance at their happy ending. It makes them work for it. It also pushes the readers past their comfort zone but in a way that dares them to turn the pages and read more. Surely, the author couldn’t have meant to torment their characters so much!

When you pick up an urban fantasy, you are guaranteed a book that will take you to a whole new world of mystery and adventure, and if the author did their job right, a world you can almost see outside your window at night. That’s what I hoped to have achieved with my book, Electric Storm. I wanted to give the readers something different, something that would make you wonder about the possibilities of a world beyond our own. If you stumbled upon the door to that world, would you walk through it?

My character, Raven, teetered on that edge. Not quite human, not quite paranormal, she lived between worlds. What’s a writer to do, but give her a shove?

When Raven, a natural born conduit, accidentally walks in on a slave auction, she only wants a night out with her friends before her next case as a paranormal liaison with the police. Instead, she ends up in possession of a shifter and his guardian. When your touch can kill, living with two touchy-feely shifters is a disaster waiting to happen.

To make matters worse, a vicious killer is on the loose. As mutilated bodies turn up, she can’t help fear that her new acquisitions are keeping secrets from her. The strain of keeping everyone alive, not to mention catching the killer, pushes her tenuous control of her gift and her emotions to their limits. If they hope to survive, they must work together as a pack or risk becoming hunted themselves.

Stacey Brutger

And what’s an author to do but follow along and enjoy the ride? Thanks for stopping by today. I hope you enjoyed the post and a sneak peek into my book.

Leave a comment today and be entered to win a $5 Amazon gift card. Tell me your favorite Urban Fantasy author or which paranormal character you would like (or not like) to meet and why.

Thank you to Stacey for guest blogging today! Thank you to readers and commenters. Stacey will let everyone know who won the $5.00 gift certificate at her blog. Stacey can be found online at her website and at GoodreadsELECTRIC STORM is available for purchase now at Amazon and Barnes & Noble.