Lunar Landers, the Wright Brothers, and Battleships: Selena Fulton On “Why Write Time Travel?”

A Civil War Time Travel Romance from The Wild Rose Press
Available June 20th

Time travel stories are fascinating. I remember reading Ray Bradbury’s “A Sound of Thunder” in 5th grade. It was mind-blowing and provocative. Heady stuff for a fifth grader! Anyone who loves stories where characters take a journey through time as well as space has their own story about why they love them. When Selena contacted me about doing a guest blog, I asked if she was willing to share hers.

What would Daniel Boone think of jet airplanes, telephones, and microwaves?

Thank you for having me on your blog, Jill! I’m thrilled to be here.

In a matter of days, my time-travel romance, Never Let Go, will be available with The Wild Rose Press and on Amazon.com. It’s my first novella and I’m so excited about it! When Jill invited me to guest blog, she asked, What made me want to write time-travel?

Growing up, Mom planned educational vacations for our family. She loved reading and history, and it was only natural for her to incorporate learning on our annual adventures. Perhaps she wanted to see some of those places for herself too.

So we clambered over many forts, visited Presidential boyhood homes, and saw fragments of the original lunar landers in space museums. I stood where the Wright Brothers flew the first airplane. We explored decommissioned battleships, and stood in the actual wheel ruts of the pioneers on the Oregon Trail. Do you realize that over one hundred years later, the grass still hasn’t grown over the ground thousands of wagons, animals and humans walked over? You can still follow the same trail as those pioneers did so many years ago.

As I absorbed these different pieces of history, I used to wonder what someone like Daniel Boone would think of jet airplanes, telephones, and microwaves. Would he embrace the new technology, or run and hide in a cave?

Even better, what if you traveled back in time and had to do without those everyday “necessities” we’ve grown accustomed to having in our lives?

In my time-travel novella, my modern heroine has been devastated by her unfaithful husband. She grows a tough skin and moves on, deciding she’s done with men and makes no bones about it. Yet, deep inside, she’s still an old-fashioned girl, longing to be loved by an old-fashioned man. A man who will come and sweep her off her feet, a man with honor and commitment. Unfortunately, she also believes such a man no longer exists.

My hero, on the other hand, finds this modern woman disturbing. Her hair is cut short, she wears indecent clothing, and her brash language is anything but ladylike. Couple that with her absurd talk of being from the future, he wonders if she is insane too. Yet there is a vulnerability about her that draws him in.

To find out how their love spans the barrier of time and they find a way to share a life together, visit The Wild Rose Press or click here.

Want to know when my next story comes out? Follow my blog or find me on Facebook.

So readers and writers, how about you? Do you love to read stories with time travel elements? Do you write them? If so, what early experiences drew you to these stories in the first place? What would Daniel Boone think of airplanes, telephones, and microwaves? What would Ben Franklin think of Facebook? Or Alexander Graham Bell the iPhone? Selena is giving away a hand-made summer ankle bracelet to one lucky commenter. (Due to mailing costs, U.S. only unless Selena says otherwise below). 

Selena Fulton
Just in time for summer!

Published by

Jill Archer

Jill Archer is the author of the Noon Onyx series, genre-bending fantasy novels including DARK LIGHT OF DAY, FIERY EDGE OF STEEL, WHITE HEART OF JUSTICE, and POCKET FULL OF TINDER.

59 thoughts on “Lunar Landers, the Wright Brothers, and Battleships: Selena Fulton On “Why Write Time Travel?”

  1. Hi Jill, Hi Selena,

    Sounds like a fantastic story, Selena! It is definitely on my TBR list!

    I’m sure if I traveled back in time I’d be in for some severe culture shock. How I’d deal with it would depend on how far back I went. For the most part, I could probably adapt to the lack of modern day luxuries – not necessarily happily, but I could do it. But I know I would miss the security and advancements, such as they are, of modern medicine and women’s rights.

  2. Hi Shamus– Thanks for the comment and the link! Fascinating.

    p.s. to all, I started thinking about my cmt to Roni about steampunk + time travel. (Can you tell I haven’t read much steampunk? Was thinking of it strictly as an alt history type of speculative fiction. But my defn was too limiting.) In any case, I pulled some steampunk reading lists for myself to read… you know — whenever I can find the time — hahaha! Okay enough already! It’s Monday! We all need to get back to work! 😉

    Steampunk reading lists (which include some steampunk time travel stories!):

    http://www.rantingdragon.com/top-20-steampunk-books-an-introduction-to-the-genre/
    http://www.flashlightworthybooks.com/Best-Steampunk-Books/403

  3. Jill, though I could not find an article about Japanese experiments, there was this one about Italian scientists breaking the speed of light barrier, which opens up all sorts of possibilities:
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/2011/sep/23/physicists-speed-light-violated
    I’ve found that the time travel stories I enjoy most tend to be movies, such as Back to the Future. Of course, there is A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court, though from our point of view it’s about someone in the past (1889) traveling even further into the past. Despite being dated, you can’t go wrong with Mark Twain, right?
    The most interesting thing in a time travel story for me is finding out how the author deals with paradoxes and changes that alter history. Even the mere presence of a person could set in motion a series of events that rewrites the future — a scary thought for the time traveler. The Law of Unintended Consequences will likely haunt any time-hopper to death, but it certainly allows for sequels!

  4. Hi Carla, Wendy, and Pamela– Thanks so much for the comments and the visit. I really enjoyed this discussion! Loved reading everyone’s thoughts on time travel, books & movies.

    bn100– Give time travel a try! Time travel elements can be found in all sorts of novels — general fiction, sf/f, romance… There’s something for everyone. Try Never Let Go or one of the other ones mentioned in the comments. 🙂

    Final note to Roni– I think you’re on to a new genre mash-up. Time travel + steampunk. Let me know if you write it or find it, I want to read it!

    Hope everyone had a terrific weekend!

  5. Excellent post! I love time travels and write them myself, so all the things everyone else has mentioned figure into my fascination. The whole “fish out of water” and the impact of others on different culture and customs has always intrigued. Thanks to Jill and Selena!

  6. I think that’s where writing becomes my outlet. I never stop wondering what the world is like behind someone else’s eyes. Interesting prospect, seeing the modern world as someone who wouldn’t know a cell phone from a rock. 🙂 Can’t wait to check this out! Many happy sales to you, Selena!

  7. Selena,

    I love time travel stories. The concept of being in alien time is fascinating to me. Congratulations on the release of your first novella!

  8. Selena, it sound so exciting! I think I prefer stories where someone goes back in time as opposed to ones where someone goes forward. But a good story is a good story, and I can’t wait to read yours!

  9. Great topic! I love time travel too – maybe it’s the idea of being somewhere else knowing what you know now. I loved the movie Kate and Leopold too, but my favorite time travel book is The Time Traveler’s Wife. Beautiful and so sad. Looking forward to reading yours, Selena.

  10. Hi Selena and Jill,
    I haven’t read a lot of time travel–the Highland stories, The Time Machine, and others, mostly historical. I always like the ones in which the character stays in the past 🙂 When I was young, I was fascinated by the idea of going back in time–thought I’d love to live in a different era. (Several, actually, including the early American West.) Then I grew up and realized what I’d have to leave behind and decided I’m better off where I am. But I still enjoy reading of others’ journeys. Would Ben Franklin like Facebook? Hummmm. He was a writer and a journalist as well. I bet he’d like it, although he’d be frustrated at the trivialities with which we’re innundated.

    Good luck with your novella, Selena. I’m looking forward to reading it! It sounds great.

    1. Hi Barbara– I’m not sure which time travel story I like better, the ones where the character goes into the past, or the ones where they go into the future. Or which I’d rather do myself (although I agree with you, I’d want to come back to my current life). Have you read Michael Crichton’s Timeline? You might like it. Thanks for the visit!

  11. Hi, I’d have to say my favorite time travel movie is Kate and Leopold with Hugh Jackman and Meg Ryan. Of all the people you named, I think Alexander Graham Bell would have been the least put off by anything from the future since he invested his life in inventing for the future! And with regard to Stephen Hawking: Albert Einstein said time is nonlinear, so if we can go forward in time, we could go backward just as easily. Recently, I saw a clip on the internet by a physicist who said time travel is feasible because they are doing it in a lab in Japan. He said at this point it is a single atom jumping time, but since we are made up of atoms, they’ll eventually figure out how to get all those atoms that make up humans to jump time!

    1. Kate and Leopold! Forgot about that one. It was very cute. I don’t know whether to be excited or frightened about the possibility of true time travel. Atoms are one thing, but human consciousness — and conscience — is quite another. Wonderful comment. Full of both fun and meaty things to consider. Thanks for stopping by, Kathleen!

    2. Hi Kathleen,
      Albert Einstein is one of my heroes. I’ll take his theories over Stephen Hawking’s anyday~LOL! I didn’t see the piece about physicists in Japan making atoms jump time. Where did you find it? Thanks!
      ~Roni Lynne

      1. Hi Roni,
        I don’t know exactly where I saw it. I’ve run into this guy on the internet before and everything he has to say is so uplifting and exciting, and he’s a physicist! I do go on the Huffington Post Science section over at AOL news so maybe that’s where I’ve picked him up more than once. Another friend here runs across him as well and loves his take on science.

  12. I guess my love for time travel goes back to A Wrinkle in Time. As a kid I often wondered, what if. I guess I was a story teller, even then. Even if the stories were only to myself.

    Good luck with your release Selena!

  13. Hi Jill and Selena!
    I’m a big fan of time travel, and I’m really annoyed with Stephen Hawking for saying that time travel into the past will never be possible! I say it will. What does he know…right? LOL! I’d love to be able to travel back in time and meet some of my heroes & heroines. Speaking of, if you could go back in time, who would you most like to meet?
    ~Roni Lynne

    1. Hi Roni– Love your bold statement about Stephen Hawking. 😉 Great question about who I’d like to meet if I could go back in time. Pick one? Impossible! I’d love to meet Rachel Carson, Amelia Earhart, and Helen Keller. Or get the scoop from Hedda Hopper, fight alongside Joan of Arc, or ask Cleopatra about snakes and eye makeup. But seriously, I’d have to say if time travel were REALLY possible, I think I’d like to meet some of the major figures from the Bible. So then the next interesting question is, how much would you risk to meet them? Would you risk altering your own reality like the hunter in “A Sound of Thunder”? I’m not sure I would. I like this life too much. 🙂

      1. Jill,
        I too would love to meet Amelia Earhart, Cleopatra and Joan of Arc. I’m not sure exactly how much I’d be willing to risk. What if risking some of it lead to our living in a steampunk world? The possible outcomes are so infinite—how could we ever determine if we’d be better or worse off?
        ~Roni Lynne

    2. Hi Roni,

      How far back in time would you like to go? I have no idea. I’ve always loved the western movement, so probably my own lineage like Daniel Boone.

      1. Hi Selena,
        How far would I like to go? Hmmm…when I was a child I might have said, ‘to the time of the dinosaurs’. Not so sure of that one now! LOL! If there was an actual Atlantis, definitely to there. I also love the old west. See ya there!
        ~Roni Lynne

  14. Hi, Selena and Jill!

    I love time travels. I’ve read tons and have written a few of my own. I always find it fascinating to see how authors deal with the issue of time travel. How a person goes from disbelief to realizing they’re not in Kansas any longer. And then how they learn to live with a world that’s out of this world for them. 🙂 It’s like conflict personified. 🙂

    1. Hi Terry– I love fish out of water stories. It’s neat to see how the character adapts to their new environment (or doesn’t) and, of course, you can’t help but put yourself in their shoes and wonder how you would fare in the same situation. Fun stuff! Thanks for the comment!

  15. Hi Selena, thanks for guest blogging today! Your mom sounds terrific. I hope my kids remember our family trips with as much fondness as you do yours. When did you learn how to make your own jewelry? What inspired you to create the summer ankle bracelet you’re giving away today?

    NEVER LET GO sounds sweet and fun. Kendra Prescott seems like a woman who deserves a happy ending. Four more days, huh? Are you excited? 😀

    1. Thanks for having me, Jill. Yes, I am very excited about my release day!

      I learned to make jewelry during a church function and I love working with beads.

Leave a Reply

