Ghost Stories
Do you believe in ghosts?

Pamela K. Kinney is an actress, Master Costumer, paranormal investigator and published author. She writes horror, science fiction, fantasy, poetry, and nonfiction ghost books. Two of her nonfiction ghost books, Haunted Richmond, Virginia and Haunted Virginia: Legends, Myths and True Tales, have been nominated in the past for Library of Virginia Literary Awards. Her latest release is Haunted Richmond II, a collection of supernatural stories about characters such as the Richmond Vampire and the Werewolf of Henrico set in battlefields, churches, parks, and colleges. Pamela is giving away one copy of her short horror and dark fantasy fiction collection, Spectre Nightmares and Visitations today to one lucky commenter (U.S. eligible for signed copy; outside U.S. eligible for e-book version). Welcome, Pamela!

Ghost Stories Bring Out the Primal in Us!

Ghost stories bring out the primal in us. We want to be scared. It goes back to the days when we huddled in caves, a fire kept going all night, not just against the real threat of the wolf and cave bear, but also against the spirits and monsters the tribal shaman warned us to beware of around the fire. Today, that tradition is kept by someone telling legends and urban legends to us as we sit around a warm campfire with friends or family, or in a building, locked tight against intruders. Which being the logical people we are in today’s modern world, kept safe from the living who might do harm to us. But ghosts can walk through walls and locked doors, and forget the outdoors, the unseen hover all around us more than we think.

Yet, we crave these ghostly tales, whether myths and legends, or what paranormal investigators or other people experience for real. The titillation of experiencing second hand what others have gone through is a safe way of almost being there. Still there are those who suddenly realized that second hand is not good enough. They need to experience it first hand! They need to see if there is life after death, proof to back up what they suspect, or if a skeptic, to maybe have their disbeliefs proven wrong. Most of all, it’s the thrill of actually coming face-to-face with an actual spirit or paranormal phenomenon, where the shackles of safe second hand hearing and viewing no longer are there as a safe-guard. The titillation has gone up several notches in the hair rising on the back of the neck.

I admit after researching in person for my four nonfiction ghost books, especially leading investigations at night with paranormal groups that I’d never done before for this new one, Haunted Richmond II, published by Schiffer Publishing, I was not ready to go back to the safety of my couch and read about ghosts or watch them on paranormal shows on television. Not to say that I still don’t enjoy reading ghost stories or watching them on shows like Paranormal Witness or Ghost Adventures. No, even when absolutely nothing happens on an investigation, the times when it does by evidence of ghostly presences in photos, EVPs on my recorder or hearing a voice from my Frank’s box (ghost book), or even a personal experience, makes me appreciate that sometimes we need to get out of that building or away from that campfire and really test the boundaries and learn something. Sometimes, we need to be a part of those ghost stories.

Don’t you agree?

More About Haunted Richmond II

Return once more to haunted Richmond, where no building is safe from supernatural happenings. Visit Stories Comics, which holds more than just comics within its walls. Step back in time at Henricus Historical Park where you’ll be welcomed by dead colonists, Civil War soldiers, and other haunts. Discover that not only is the Richmond Vampire out for your blood, but the Werewolf of Henrico waits for you beneath the full moon. It seems that the War Between the States is still being fought between ghostly Confederate and Union soldiers at Cold Harbor, Sailor’s Creek, Parker’s Battery, and Petersburg Battlefield. All this… plus a sea serpent, a lost city, ghostly cats, Bigfoot, a UFO, and haunted churches, parks, and colleges. So be sure to plan your visit now to a very paranormal Richmond. The dead don’t stay dead in this town!

Excerpt

By 9:00 p.m., in groups of two or more two, we all set off in different directions after Cheryl turned off all the lights. Greg of RPS was my partner for the night. Greg and I decided to go in the back room of the bookstore and begin there.

It was quiet and very dark—spooky. I could see where those working alone in the store might imagine anything creepy going on. I found a good place to stash my EMF meter that didn’t cause all the lights to come on (the wiring in such an old building can make the meters go off easily, something a potential ghost hunter should be aware of). Then, I switched on my recorder for the second time (I did an earlier recording for a short time when the lights were all still on) and set it on top of a couple of paperbacks. Greg and I asked questions, trying to get responses. We talked to each other and took pictures. We began to see parts of the darkness move—shadows. At one point, I saw something shifted by Greg, between the two of us, and I quickly snapped a picture. I captured a mass of blackness that covered his lower half and along the bookcase he stood in front of. I also captured a large shadow in the last aisle to my right.

The investigation became interesting when a second light came on my EMF meter. I asked some questions. The answers we received were that it was a male and loved comic books.

Later that night, two members of Ghost Eyes did something else in the same room and indicated that though the spirit seemed shy, he did get responses from it. One of RPS investigators, Carol, and I scared it off for a bit when we stuck our heads in to see what was going on, but it returned  when Steve coaxed it. I watched and saw a shadow move to him, then dart back.

Greg and I did the ‘claustrophobic’ room in back of the center section of the building. The room was small and tight, with shelves filled with boxes of comics. I found a good enough place to set up my EMF meter where all the lights on didn’t automatically come on. We put down our recorders and settled down comfortably to ask questions and see what happened. Besides odd sounds, we would catch sight of shadows that were there, then not. One of those shadows hovered just outside of the room. For a second I saw a person with his or her hands on their hips, and then it vanished. I double-checked to see where my own shadow was. It was with me in the room, to my left. Usually I have seen shadowy masses in investigations before, but never one shaped like a person.

I found out that Greg had a Frank’s box. Another investigator was already utilizing a similar device in another room of the shop. Greg dug it out of his bookbag and set it up. After turning it on and setting to it in scanning mode, we began asking questions, hoping to get answers by voice, unlike the responses we get with the EMF meter. A voice said he was Charles (some of the investigators told us that they found on their own Frank’s box that the ghost in that room was Chuck) and that he worked in one of the businesses that were there before Stories. But he wouldn’t answer if he was an employee or the owner of the business. When I felt someone pulled at the back my T-shirt, I became upset and blurted out about invasion of my personal space. Suddenly, a male voice said from the box, “I’m sorry.”

It began to feel crowded in that room, as if there were lots of people on each side of Greg and me. The claustrophobic feeling grew worse. We shut off the box as we couldn’t get anything more, grabbed our recorders, my EMF meter and the bookbag, and left, stopping in the comic store section.

I got the feeling that the spirits had followed us from the room we just vacated. Voices came from the ghost box when Greg set it up, and I felt touches and my shirt tugged again, though not as hard as before. After a while, they quit.

One other strange thing that happened to me was when my recorder began to play and my voice rose from it. Greg thought it was his radio, but I figured out what it was and asked him to shine his light on it so I could change it back to recording mode. Funny thing, I never touched it. The last time this happened to me was at Cold Harbor in April 2007.

11:00 p.m. rolled around and everyone gathered up the equipment. I thanked Cheryl before the Ghost Eyes team drove me home. I uploaded my pictures and the recordings. There was nothing at all on the first recording. But on the second one, I had an EVP while we were in the claustrophobic room. For a short moment I heard low whispering.

Some members of the Richmond Paranormal Society got an assortment of activity. There was an interesting orb action caught on video. A couple of orbs floated from out of one of the back rooms, hovered in an extremely odd flight path, and then flew right back into the room. One of the members had an EVP of growling in one of the rooms, too.

Buy Links

How to Connect with Pamela

So what about you? Do you believe in ghosts? Do you like to tell ghost stories? Have you ever been somewhere that you thought was haunted? Have any ghost tours to recommend? Do you love to watch Ghost Hunters? Leave a comment for a chance to win Spectre Nightmares and Visitations. Wishing you all pleasant dreams tonight! 😉

Thank you, Pamela, for guest blogging today!