NYCC
2012 New York Comic Con at the Javits Center

This past weekend, I attended the New York Comic Con. This was my first experience attending a fan conference. It was every bit as much fun as I thought it would be. The crowds, the costumes, the vendors and events… the other authors, artists, fans, readers, and book bloggers – it was all fantastic.

Bummer that he's blurry!

Panels & Screenings

Legendary Comics

Friday night I sat in on the Legendary Entertainment panel. The highlight was hearing about Guillermo del Toro’s latest project — his upcoming movie, Pacific Rim. (Click here for a great recap of the panel by Sandy Schaefer at Screen Rant). We got to see the Pacific Rim trailer (previously only shown at SDCC). Needless to say, it looks awesome and I can’t WAIT to see it! Was also great to hear del Toro talk about the movie and its making. I hadn’t had the opportunity to see or hear him before in person so just watching the panel discussion was fun. As you can imagine, del Toro was very entertaining! 😀

Genre Bending Panel

I was enormously pleased to have been included in a last-minute panel that NYCC put together for Saturday afternoon. The topic is one I find particularly interesting, as both writer and reader. [Frankly, let’s just be honest here, I *LOVE* genre-bending books! And Dark Light of Day is the poster child of genre-bending books since it has elements of fantasy, romance, mystery, and post-apocalyptic, even legal fiction and new adult!] On the panel with me were:

  • Lia Habel, author of Dearly, Departed (steampunk zombie romance)
  • Steve Walker, co-author of The Battle of Blood and Ink (steampunk graphic novel featuring the “swashbuckling, indomitable clouddog Ashe”)
  • Kalayna Price, author of the Alex Craft novels (urban fantasy with elements of mystery and romance)
  • Steve Bein, author of Daughter of the Sword (attempted theft of an old samurai sword — fantasy, police procedural, and historical fiction)
  • Myke Cole, author of the Shadow Ops series (“Black Hawk Down meets the X-Men” — fantasy and military fiction)
  • Benjamin Tate, author of Leaves of Flame (epic fantasy)

Cici James, co-owner of Singularity & Co., NYC’s only science fiction and fantasy dedicated bookshop, moderated the panel. She asked some great questions, focusing the discussion on areas like reader reactions to genre-bending books and the prevalence of strong, female leads in the books of most (though not all) of the authors on the panel. We discussed covers, always a popular topic. For my part, I was still soaking up all the intense and wonderful Comic Con vibes so I hope I did Dark Light of Day and Noon Onyx justice with my answers. I shared my thoughts that a genre-bending book can serve as a reader gateway from one genre to another. Some of the reader comments that have made me the happiest so far have come from romance readers who took a chance on DLOD “despite” its fantasy setting and have said the book made them consider reading more fantasy, which is terrific!

Was great meeting book bloggers and online writers group chapter mates like Jessica Kong, who also brought her kids to the panel.

Graphic Novels & Comic Books

During the post-panel autographing session I was lucky enough to sit next to Steve Walker.

Steve Walker, co-author of The Battle of Blood and Ink

So this is what I got to bring home:

The Battle of Blood and Ink

Steve drew Ashe, the indomitable heroine from The Battle of Blood and Ink; A Fable of the Flying City, on the front page as we chatted. Super cool, huh? 😀

And, because it was a Comic Con, I had to buy some comics, of course! [Disclaimer: Okay, it’s true. I’m not a big comic book reader. I think the last comic I read was Calvin & Hobbes. Make fun of me if you want. But it seemed silly to come all the way to Comic Con and NOT buy comics and these guys were really nice!]

These comics feature Steven James, whose mission is to keep the XenoGlyphs, stones with elemental powers, from falling into the wrong hands

Interesting People

Anyone who regularly follows my blog knows I love meeting interesting people. And, as I suspected, there’s no better place to meet interesting people than at a Comic Con. Here are a few of the really neat people I met there:

Joe Zanetti: Produces video games for Longtail Studios and film/TV projects for Frozen Fish Productions. I sat next to Joe at the Legendary panel and then hung out with him afterwards. We chatted about one of my favorite subjects: Movies! 😀

Kim Guidone: Independent producer for a future project featuring Terrifica, the “Anti-Sex in the City Superhero”  [Gotta ‘fess up that Kim’s a good friend of mine! ;-)]

Sarah Beth Durst: Author of Vessel, a fantasy novel with serpents made of unbreakable glass and wolves made of sand. (She was wearing the coolest glass dragon necklace).

Steve Bein: Fellow panelist and debut Ace/Roc author. He’s a full-time philosophy professor, but we talked books and writing, not philosophy. 🙂

Also briefly met Garrett Jones, Staff Editor and Reviewer for The Ranting Dragon, Grace Fonseca from Livre de Amour, and was very happy to chat with Sally from The Qwillery!

Sally ‘Qwill’ Janin from The Qwillery and Jill Archer

All in all, the Genre Benders Authors Panel and the New York Comic Con was a wonderfully immersive experience. Stay tuned for NEW YORK COMIC CON Pt. 2: First Booksigning and NYC!