Noon Onyx Book #2You may think this post is a hoot, because it’s about my second book – and I’m still promoting my first! The truth is my agent, Lois Winston, who is also a writer (she writes the Anastasia Pollack crafting mystery series), tagged me in this online author’s Q&A game.  And how could I say no to her? 😉

In all seriousness though, I thought it would be fun mid-DLOD blog tour, to give everyone a sneak peek at the next book in the series. I also get to tag a few other wonderful authors who have some cool things lined up in their writer pipelines, which they can tell everyone about next week. Those authors are listed below after my Noon Onyx Book #2 Sneak Peek.

Next Big Thing Q&A

What is your working title of your book?

Noon Onyx Book #2 😀

Where did the idea come from for the book?

As with the first book in the series (Dark Light of Day) my inspirations for Book #2 came from myriad sources: a French imposter case, a story from the 1990 Tales from the Darkside movie, creepy folklore, and two children’s songs about the unlikeliest of topics — death.

What genre does your book fall under?

The Noon Onyx series is fantasy. That said, there are elements of all sorts of other genres present in the series: mystery, romance, legal fiction, post-apocalyptic fiction, even new adult.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I always demur on this question because it would be much more interesting to hear reader’s thoughts on this. If you’ve read Dark Light of Day and stumble across this post at any point in the future, feel free to answer this question in the comments. I’d love to know what *you* think!

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

New assignment, new adventures, and new adversaries. (Later this fall, I’ll have a new cover, new title, and new blurb to share.)

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m represented by the person who tagged me for this post, Lois Winston.

I’m currently under contract with Ace to write the first three books in the Noon Onyx series.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Probably a year in total. My “first drafts” are a lot more than working drafts. I spend the most time on the first draft stage of writing.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Uh… next question, please… [“Unique” and “different” are two words that seem to come up a lot with respect to Dark Light of Day].

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

In Noon’s second story, I wanted to explore the themes of knowledge, duty, love, and betrayal.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I’ve shared elsewhere that Noon Onyx Book #2 will have some characters who return, some who are new, and that Noon will get her first field assignment. I’ll also add that I became fascinated with the idea of divination tools and I like how that played out.

If you enjoyed this sneak peek of Noon Onyx book #2, you can add it to your Goodreads shelf by clicking here.

Or “like it” or pre-order it by clicking here.

May 28, 2013 is the anticipated release date. Okay, that’s it on book #2 for a while…

Other Authors with “Next Big Things”

Next week, these authors will post about the Next Big Things they’re working on:

Brinda Berry: Brinda is the YA author of The Whispering Woods series, which includes The Waiting Booth (“A missing boy, government agents, an interdimensional portal….”) and Whisper of Memory (“Weapons training and winter formals… a deadly combination”). She’s also the President of the Diamond State Romance Authors and she hosts the Social Media Savvy with Sanity Series at Gloria Richard’s blog. Look for Brinda’s Next Big Thing post here.

Alex Hughes: Alex is the author of Clean, a dystopian thriller (“In a dark future Atlanta, a disgraced telepath must stop a serial killer who murders with the mind. Can our hero stay on the wagon long enough to lead the police to the killer?”). For her Next Big Thing post click here (link will go live on 10/25/12).

Amy Raby: Amy is a fantasy romance author whose novel Assassin’s Gambit will be out in April 2013 from Signet Eclipse. I’m hoping Amy will tell us more about it with her Next Big Thing post: click here (link should be live on 10/22/12). She also does a “History for the Fantasy Buff” blog series, which is terrific.

Readers, thanks for letting us share our Next Big Thing with you!