These have all been out for a while, but I thought I’d share three of my family’s favorite picture books with you. GREAT FOR ALL AGES, BUT ESPECIALLY FOR YOUNG UN-PRINCESSES! Each of these stories also has some great character inspirations for last-minute Halloween costumes!

Cinderella Skeleton

Let us know if you decide to dress up as Cinderella Skeleton, Prince Charnel, or stepsisters Gristlene and Bony-Jane!

Why we love Cinderella Skeleton: Why?! Well because she’s “everything a ghoul should be” of course! 😀 Don’t take my word for it. Here’s a few more wonderful lines from author Robert D. San Souci:

Her build was long and lean and lank;
Her dankish hair hung down in hanks;
Her nails were yellow; her teeth were green—
The ghastliest haunt you've ever seen.
Foulest in the land was she.

Bonus: David Catrow’s gorgeous pictures! It’s a wonderfully macabre, colorfully detailed reinterpretation of the Cinderella story.

Violet the Pilot

Let us know if you or your daughter dresses up as Violet the Pilot (or her dog Orville!)

Why we love Violet: What’s not to like about a girl who reads Popular Science, has a dog named “Orville” and who rescues a bunch of Boy Scouts?

Bonus: Getting to see all of Violet’s various flying contraptions. Among them: the Tub-bubbler, the Pogo Plane, and the Wing-a-ma-jig.  Violet’s inventive and inspiring!

The Paper Bag Princess

Do a Google Images search for “Paper Bag Princess” and you’ll see lots of other neat costumes that people have made based on this character.

Why we love the Elizabeth: Sure, Elizabeth’s beautiful, has “expensive princess clothes” and is going to marry a prince, but fairly early on she loses most of what she holds dear. Her new best friend is the titular paper bag and we get to see that Elizabeth is as beautifully strong as her new dress is not.

Bonus: Elizabeth’s last lines to Prince Ronald (oft-quoted in our house).

Have you read any of these books? If so, which is your favorite?

Book Signing Update

This Saturday I’m doing my last in-person event for Dark Light of Day. I’m signing books at a multi-author event featuring Nora Roberts, who is signing the third book in the InnBoonsBoro Trilogy, The Perfect Hope. The book signing is in Boonsboro, Maryland at Turn the Page bookstore from 12:00-2:00. For more information (including a list of the other authors who are attending), please click here. If you live in the area, I’d love to see you there!

Blog Tour Update

Yesterday, I was at Laurie’s Paranormal Thoughts and Reviews. Laurie interviewed me and I shared what my family thinks of Dark Light of Day, whether my husband reads my work or not, and how I’ve responded to negative and mixed reviews. If you have a chance, stop by!

Carving Pumpkins Update

Carving pumpkins; Halloween
This pattern reminded me of the Sleepy Hollow tree…

Halloween pumpkin

Carved pumpkins
Every year my cat (under the table) tells me he wants to go as Jiji, the black cat from Kiki’s Delivery Service. Unfortunately, he’s an indoor cat.

Are you carving pumpkins this year? What will your pumpkins look like?

Frankenstorm / Superstorm Sandy Update

Superstorm Sandy
Pre-Sandy: I told them umbrellas would turn inside out. They improvised. 🙂

Gusts of nearly 50 mph. Lost power for a while and though there was a swarm of no less than a dozen BGE trucks outside our house at one point, we were up and running yesterday having lost nothing more than a window screen. Today, school is cancelled for the third day, we are in a “brownout” with limited power and have no internet. (I’m posting this using a cellular hotspot). How is everyone else? I hope everyone is safe and that you suffered minimal flooding and wind damage. My thoughts are with everyone in NYC, New Jersey, and elsewhere where the impact was much worse than it was here. Gotta put in a pitch to donate to the Red Cross or your favorite disaster relief charity if you haven’t already!

Best wishes for Halloween! Here’s to hoping that Mother Nature will be much kinder to us for Thanksgiving.