Piper Shelly is from the Austrian countryside and loves it. She says that many things inspire her: books, movies, music, and sunny weather. She believes in magic and the supernatural. “This world would be an absolutely boring place if there wasn’t anything paranormal to think about and hunt for in a curious way.” She’s here to talk about her latest release, Her Game, His Rules. Welcome, Piper!

Upper YA, New Adult, paranormal romance

Piper Shelly: “Sometimes, they come way too sexy!”

Hey everyone! Feeling good? Fantastic! 🙂

I want to thank Jill for giving me a little space today to introduce my NA romance novel to you and talk about…something. Yeah, I really had trouble finding a good enough topic to rant about (strange but true) and not bore you for the next ten minutes. So how about…tada…a really sweet Sideshow Bob in my novel? 😉 His name is actually Quinn, and believe me the guy gave me more trouble than a stray dog in your backyard.

He only appears a few times at the beginning of HER GAME, HIS RULES. In the first three or four chapters, to be precise. As the name Sideshow Bob signifies, he’s not a main character, let alone the hero. But, he came first, and when I started the novel, I was so ready to write a sexy guy. Bad luck… I introduced him as young enough to be attractive to young adults, and I poured all my favorite qualities into his personality. Smart, perfectly built, black hair, dominant (he’s a cop) but at the same time sensitive enough to break through the protective walls of a seventeen-year-old. I loved everything about him, even the name.

But soon I realized what a bad mistake I made. I wrote him so lovely that I couldn’t let go of him when it was time. The man just wanted to stay in the novel, and hell, he even tried to become a rival to the actual hero, Julian. That gave me some sleepless nights. Finally I decided if I wanted to get my neck out of the noose for the sake of the story I had in mind, I had to go cold turkey on him.

In the original draft, Quinn made another appearance somewhere past the middle of the book. A personal one. But knowing better, I wrote him out. And when my critique partners whined I couldn’t leave him back in London just like that after I made the man sexy enough to make your mouth water, I rewrote parts of him in the beginning, too. I altered his behavior and changed his dialogue. Can you imagine how hard it is to push a demanding figure like him back into the lines? It was like I had a permanent argument with him inside my mind, me telling him he can’t do that, and he leaning in close, cocking a brow, and saying, “What are you willing to bet?”

Piper Shelly
Piper Shelly

Well, sometimes it’s good to be the God of your characters, ‘cause in the end he had to back down. But I think I let him be lovely enough to make an impact on the readers. And they still send me messages, telling me they almost drooled over him… Mission accomplished. 😉

Enjoy the read!

Piper

Where to buy Her Game, His Rules and where to find Piper online

Her Game, His Rules Excerpt

He was so infuriating, and I was absolutely not charmed. Okay, maybe just a little…

The door to the court room opening opposite me didn’t disrupt my low singing. But when my mother’s young friend came out and leaned one shoulder casually against the column in the middle of the hallway, the hum died in my throat.

“Hi,” he said with a compassionate look that made me wish the traitor, Quinn, had taken off those damn handcuffs so I wouldn’t look like a complete idiot.

Lips pressed together, my fingers waggled in a feeble greeting. The mere sight of him sent a quiver of excitement to my stomach.

“That was quite an interesting…situation in there.”

With an evil grin, I hoped to send the message ‘Mind your own crap, buddy,’ but out loud, I said sweetly, “Glad you enjoyed the show.”

“I didn’t really.” He wrinkled his nose. “Getting involved with Laurel and Hardy in there wasn’t your best idea. Even a smart girl like you might get hurt in a fight with those two.”

Yeah, sure. My eyes narrowed to slits. But his words warmed my heart in an unfamiliar way.

The young man nodded his chin at my tied hands. “They seem rather uncomfortable.”

And they bloody well were, but I shrugged it off like it was nothing unusual. “The latest fashion. You heard the judge, I wear them quite often.”

A teasing smile played around his lips that spiked my blood pressure. “Shall we take them off?”

He must be kidding. “Unless you’ve got teeth like a hacksaw, I don’t see how that would work.”

Grin widening, he crossed the hall to me, pulling out a key-ring from his pocket. He squatted, leveled his eyes with mine, and shook the ring in front of my face. The friendly jingle of metal filled the high hallway.

My mouth sagged open. “Where did you get these from?”

“Chief Madison.”

“You stole them from Quinn?” I pulled my hands reflexively out of his reach.

“Of course not.” The blond god gave me a pointed look. “I asked for them.”

Why would this guy ask my officer friend to release me? Frowning, I concentrated on the safety pin in my jeans. “Quinn wouldn’t unshackle me when I asked him to.”

His intense blue eyes locked with mine. “I had to solemnly swear to keep an eye on you. Now hold still.” Cool fingers curled around my wrist to fix my hand while he unlocked the first cuff. Sparks tingled on my skin, my hand trembled slightly.

Why would he give his word to an officer, to free me? Why even care? He’d do well to stay behind that door, holding my horrible mother’s hand instead of setting mine free. With a click, the other cuff came off. I flexed my hands and rubbed my burning wrists. The shackles had left bright red lines on my skin.

“Better?” He tilted his head and arched one beautiful brow.

My head bobbed, but I found no breath to answer.

“Okay then.” He used my knees to push himself up and stretched to his full height.

He probably expected a thanks following his selflessness. My gaze focused on the ripped hems of his jeans, my lips remained sealed.

When he turned on his heel and marched off to the left, I glanced up. “And now you’re going where?” The words shot out before I could stop myself.

“Bathroom break.” His arched brows dared me to object.

My lower lip threatened to pop from between my teeth as I chewed on it. Don’t speak! “But you’re supposed to keep an eye on me.”

After studying me for a couple of seconds, his expression softened even more. “You’re not going to get me into trouble.”

I let him take another stride away from me. Two. Three. Four. “How can you be so sure?” Shut the hell up, Jona. “After everything you know about me, I’ll probably be gone when you get back.”

A shrug of one shoulder and his beguiling smile struck me silent. “I trust you.”

I enjoyed the sneak peek of Her Game, His Rules, Piper. Thank you for guest blogging today! 🙂