Lynn Rush has been writing New Adult books since her first book, Wasteland, came out in August of 2011. Awaited, the second book in the Wasteland Trilogy, was released this past May and today the third and final book, Tainted, is out. Since New Adult fiction has been getting so much press lately, I asked if Lynn would be willing to come tell us about what it was like to be an early front-runner of this up and coming genre — and to share more about Tainted. To celebrate her release day, Lynn’s offering a great giveaway: One commenter will get their choice of the following e-books: Wasteland, Awaited, Tainted, Prelude to Darkness, or Violet Midnight. Welcome, Lynn!

Tainted by Lynn Rush

Lynn Rush: Crescent Moon Press’ Flagship New Adult Author

Hi, Jill. Thanks for having me here today. And on my release day even. It’s such an exciting time. Tainted (Wasteland #3) released today. It’s the third book in the Wasteland Trilogy, so it’s bitter sweet. Saying goodbye to the Guardians, Demons, and Angels of Wasteland, yet, I had such a blast.

Wasteland was my very first novel ever printed. Crescent Moon Press took the leap into the up and coming category of New Adult!

We’re hearing tons about it now, especially contemporary NA. Even some bigger publishers are starting to acknowledge this long neglected category. I’m proud to say I was Crescent’s flagship author with the Wasteland Novels.

I often get the question “What is New Adult?” I love how they summed it up in a nice tag line over at NA Alley Blog by stating, “Bridging the gap between Young Adult and Adult fiction.”

That hits the nail on the head right there. Now, there are “parameters” for NA like most other categories. They’re somewhat permeable, though, like the others. Mine for instance. Wasteland’s characters are 400+ years old! How can that be NA?

Well, it rides the edge there a little. My characters all look twenty-something. There are some younger characters as well. But mostly, it’s about the heat. It’s not the sweet YA romance, yet not the steamy-make-me-blush adult romance.

Yet book two, Awaited, the main character is only nineteen. So, age-wise, she meets one of the criteria. But again, the romance is between YA and Adult.

We all know books can cross over to younger and older crowds, that’s the beauty of books. They hit us all differently.

I think New Adult has been a long time coming. Those longing for romance, but not quite so sweet and not so spicy, haven’t had anywhere to go…until now.

I often get asked how I got into New Adult writing. To be honest, it actually found me! When I first started writing, I was always told my characters were too old for YA but too young for adult and that I needed to change them. I stuck to my guns, wrote what I loved and now they’re calling it New Adult.

I’m just so happy New Adult is officially here and taking off.

What are your thoughts on NA? Long time coming and it’s here to stay? Just a fad that’ll pass on? I’d love to hear your thoughts. I’ll be around today to answer any questions, too. Just post them in the comments.

If you leave a comment you’re entered for a choice of one of the following e-books: Wasteland, Awaited, Tainted, Prelude to Darkness, or Violet Midnight. Be sure to leave your email in the post so I can contact you if your name is drawn. Open for entries until Midnight (EST) January 21st, 2013.

Thanks for having me here, Jill.

More About Tainted

Even death can’t stop true love…

After over four hundred years as a Guardian, Durk Langdon rebuked it all. Walked away from everything when his mate, Jessica, was brutally murdered. Yet he has no recollection of anything since that gruesome day.

Nothing alleviates his longing for Jessica or his disdain for the Guardians until a former brother in arms joins him and his cause. Visions of his lost love start appearing in the most unlikely places, until Durk learns she survived.

But when he sets out to find her, demonic obstacles he never could have imagined tear them apart.

If only he had trusted her…

“Tainted delivers a hot tortured hero that will keep you turning pages late into the night…” —Lisa Kessler, author of the award-winning Night Series

For the Tainted Book Trailer by Rachel Firasek, click here.

More About Lynn

Lynn Rush
Lynn Rush

Driven to write, Lynn Rush often sees her characters by closing her eyes watching their story unfold in her mind. Lynn Rush is a pen name that is a combination of two sources – Lynn, the first name of her mother-in-law, who passed away and Rush – since the author is a former inline speed skater and mountain biker. All of Rush’s books are dedicated to Lynn, her namesake, and a portion of the proceeds benefits cancer research and awareness.

Where to buy Tainted and where to find Lynn online:

I know there’s been lots of discussion already, but like Lynn, I’m curious to know everyone’s thoughts. Have you started reading more New Adult books? If so, have you read mostly contemporary NA or are you also reading paranormal NA? Thank you, Lynn, for guest blogging today! Congratulations on your release!