When I heard that Summer Lane’s State of Emergency was a Post-Apocalyptic New Adult Romantic Adventure novel, I *had* to check it out. (As many of you know, those elements pretty much sum up my current fav fiction elements). And when I saw her cover I thought it was pretty darn cool too. She tells us a bit about her main characters, Cassidy and Chris, and shares some of her inspirations for the novel. Summer is the last guest blogger in my New Adult guest blog series. (I’ll be doing a wrap up post and then will start a new series featuring some awesome authors who write in a different genre starting in April). Welcome, Summer!  

State of Emergency, Summer Lane, New Adult, post-apocalyptic fiction

I got this picture in my head of a girl standing in the middle of the street…

Writing a book about the end of modern civilization as we know it wasn’t something I ever really intended to do. For years I had toyed with the idea of writing about a post-apocalyptic world, but I never hit on the right story until I wrote State of Emergency. Don’t ask me how it happened. It was inspiration, I suppose. I was thinking about what might happen if I had to leave my home and evacuate the city when bam. I got this picture in my head of a girl standing in the middle of the street, watching airplanes fall out of the sky. This turned out to be the first scene of State of Emergency.

The Collapse Series is an interesting story to write because it follows the fall of modern society and the survival of a few extraordinary people who rise above the chaos. It’s about the jump from civilization to anarchy. I wanted to tell people how something bad happened, and then find out if there were enough strong characters in my story to turn the tables on the disaster and thrive under the pressure.

A good story is built on character, so I wanted to make sure that my two main leads were solid folks with likeable personalities. Cassidy is a self-proclaimed “realist;” a little naïve at nineteen years old and way too sarcastic for her own good. But she’s got a good heart, and in the end she always tries to do what’s right. Flawed? Yes. But loyal? Absolutely. Chris, by contrast, is a methodical guy who looks at things from a strategic standpoint. He’s a military man, and the end of the world looks a lot like the war zones he’s fought in all his life. He’s a lot more adjusted to the violence that the EMP brings than Cassidy is. And a lot calmer about it. The two of them contrast each other nicely, which gives them the ability to carry readers farther into the story world of State of Emergency.

If there’s one thing I want people take away from my novel, it’s that you should always be prepared for an emergency. Seriously! Writing this book made me meticulously examine my personal readiness for an evacuation or some random event that might kick me out of my city. I’m currently writing the sequel to State of Emergency, and many of the survivalist aspects of the book have required a lot of research. I’ve learned a lot about staying alive in the middle of a marsh and outrunning wild coyotes in the Sierra Nevada foothills.

Yeah. I’m that writer.

But I love telling stories, and writing novels has allowed me to do exactly that: Make a living out of the thing I like the most!

More About State of Emergency

What would you do if the world as you know it ended in an instant? How far would you go to survive?

Cassidy Hart is your typical High School graduate:  A little shy, a little sarcastic, and a little naive. But when an electromagnetic pulse takes down the United States, she’s forced to kick into full survival mode when she gets separated from her father.
Yeah. Things suck.
But with the help of a handsome soldier named Chris, she just might find her dad without getting into serious trouble.
Emphasis on might.
Oh. And there’s the matter of avoiding getting killed in a world that’s quickly turned into an active war zone.
It’s going to change Cassidy’s life.
It’s going to be a major pain in the butt.

Where to buy

More About Summer

post-apocalyptic new adult romantic adventure fiction
Summer Lane

Summer Lane is the author of the national bestselling novel, STATE OF EMERGENCY, the first installment in the romantic adventure Collapse Series. Summer is also a freelance writer, creative writing teacher, survival enthusiast (of course!) and complete cat lover. Summer wrote Snappy Social Networking: How to Dominate the Blogosphere & Everything in Between and is the creator of the online blog/magazine, Writing Belle.

Summer currently lives in California, near the gorgeous Sierra Nevada Mountains and the fruit basket of the world. Summer has written many novels, but State of Emergency is definitely her favorite one yet! You can find Summer by hopping onto her website or her blog. Summer is also a contributor at NA Alley, a group blog dedicated to all things New Adult.

Are you prepared for an emergency? Have you taken any survivalist courses or wilderness training? If so, let us know in the comments! Thank you for guest blogging today, Summer!