Lite Brite Pegs---- 2/8/10 (39/365)
Lite Brite Pegs—- 2/8/10 (39/365) (Photo credit: Candie_N (Welcome Spring))

Duct Tape, Chipmunks, a Floor Full of Laundry and… My Top 5 Fiction Rules

Kriss interviewed me today over at Cabin Goddess. I reveal some “dirty secrets” and talk about an unusual childhood pet that we had. She also asked me to write a flash fiction piece. I haven’t written flash fiction in years. (The last time was at a terrific U of Penn writers conference, which I think has since been discontinued). In any case, I found the whole exercise extraordinarily fun. I loved the freedom of it. No need to agonize over word choice, there’s no time! The other thing I liked is that what I came up with followed my TOP FIVE FICTION RULES:

1. There’s a slight twist

2. The end reflects the beginning, some significant event in the story and/or is thematic

3. It’s not perfect

4. It’s funny, provocative, entertaining and/or silly

5. It’s positive / the end has a message of hope or is forward-looking

There are more chances to win copies of DARK LIGHT OF DAY and FIERY EDGE OF STEEL and a $10.00 eGift Certificate to the bookstore of your choice. Click here to check it out.

Have you written any flash fiction lately? Do you enjoy reading it? Do you have a Top 5 fiction rule list? If so, what’s on there?

This weekend is going to be BUSY for me. Tomorrow, my oldest “graduates” from elementary school, Saturday we’re heading down to the Udvar-Hazy Center in DC for its “Become a Pilot” event, and Sunday is Father’s Day. How about you? Have any plans? Best wishes to everyone for a wonderful weekend! 😀