Celia Breslin is my next guest in my Spring Into Summer Romance guest blog series. I know Celia from the Fantasy, Futuristic, and Paranormal Chapter of RWA. We thought it would be fun to do something a little bit different. So for this post, Celia is being interviewed by Carina Tranquilli, the heroine from her upcoming release, Haven, a vampire romance. All US commenters will be entered to win a book from my shelves (apologies to international followers, I do offer chances to win eGC’s from time to time, just not for this guest blog series). Welcome, Celia and Carina!

Celia Breslin, Haven, vampire romance, urban fantasy, paranormal romance

“Nothing satisfies me more than a happy ending”

Hello, everyone! I’m pleased to be here on Jill’s blog today, accompanied by Carina Tranquilli, the star of my upcoming release, HAVEN. Carina agreed to tag along to grill me about romance, my favorite genre for summer reading.  Oh, who am I kidding? I love romance all year round, LOL.

Okay, Carina, I’m ready to rock when you are.

(*Carina opens pretty pink bottle of sake, pours us a round…*) Cheers and welcome to the hot seat. I’ll start you off easy. What’s your favorite romance?

Thanks, Carina. First and foremost, I love urban fantasy (UF) with a strong romantic component and paranormal romance (PNR). It’s what I read most often. And, as you know from your own romantic experiences starring in Haven, it’s also what I write. That said, I’m a sucker for a good Highlander romance, particularly when time travel is involved. And Contemporary Romances also catch my eye from time to time.

That’s great, Celia. And thanks for my romantic lead, Alexander. He’s undead Awesome Sauce. Now, give us specific romance reading recommendations, per favore.

My pleasure, Carina. Or rather, yours, re: hot n’ hunky Alexander, *ahem*… 😉

Series:

  • Amber Belldene – Blood Vine
  • Kresley Cole – Immortals After Dark
  • Larissa Ione – Demonica and Lords of Deliverance
  • Laura Kaye – Hearts of Anemoi
  • Karen Marie Moning – Highlander
  • J. R. Ward – Black Dagger Brotherhood

Grazie for the recommendations. Now tell us, why do you like reading romances?

Nothing satisfies me more than a happy ending, be it happily ever after (HEA) or happily for now (HFN). Romances give me that, and more.

Fair enough. Do you have any fun/embarrassing stories from WRITING a sexy/romantic scene? I just bet you do.

One evening, while I was working on a paranormal romance featuring a merman-human hybrid, my husband peered over my shoulder. I was editing a sexy scene set in the human heroine’s bathroom and my husband said–

“Your brain scares me.” (Pause.) “I wish I could unsee that.”

Best. Compliments. Ever. LOL 🙂

(*Carina gives me a knowing look*) If I had a dollar for every time someone said, “You scare me…” But I digress.  Okay, Celia, almost done with the interrogation, I mean, interview. Do you have a favorite sexy scene?

Hm…there are so many awesome romantic scenes in so many delightful romances. Let’s go with a Contemporary Romance example here–

Laura Kaye’s HEARTS IN DARKNESS features a man and a woman trapped in an elevator in the dark. Their interactions in the darkness are so, so good. No spoilers here, but you can read my review here for more info.

Va bene, Celia. Last question. Do you have romances to share?

Yes. Let’s share yours, Carina.

HAVEN, an urban fantasy romance, will be available this July 2nd from Champagne Book Group.  Vampires, love, mayhem…and of course, more fun with Carina.

Elevator pitch: San Francisco nightclub owner Carina Tranquilli discovers latent powers and makes peace with her vampire family, destiny and soul mate, with Team Evil in hot pursuit.

Romance snippet: “Alexander crushed his lips to mine. Need roared through me and my hands burrowed into his thick, silky hair, holding his head as if he might try to escape. He growled his approval against my lips, his kiss growing more insistent. He tasted metallic, like the blood he’d consumed. Again, I found I liked the taste…”

More About Haven

San Francisco nightclub owner Carina Tranquilli works hard, plays hard, and never allows the death of her parents and her twelve-year memory gap to get her down. But her life takes a left turn when a witch attacks her on her twenty-fifth birthday.

Three hauntingly familiar vampires emerge to reveal she possesses a latent power. To protect her from their enemies, they admit to wiping her memories clean and abandoning her as a child, but now they need her help. As she struggles to evade her new protectors and even newer enemies, she meets Alexander, an enigmatic, undead musician. Insta-lust flares, leaving her wanting more.

With evil’s minions hounding her every move, and everything she thought she knew turned on its head, Carina must harness her burgeoning power, unravel her vampire family’s web of deceit, and fight to have a love life…without getting killed in the process.

Haven will be released July 2, 2013 from Champagne Book Group, BURST imprint.

More About Celia

Celia Breslin, Haven, vampire romance, urban fantasy, paranormal romance
Celia Breslin

Celia lives in California with her husband, daughter, and two feisty cats. She writes urban fantasy and paranormal romance, and has a particular fondness for vampires and the Fae. When not writing, you’ll find her exercising, reading a good book or indulging her addiction to Joss Whedon’s TV shows and movies.

I’m also putting together a summer reading list (AND I CANNOT WAIT TO GET STARTED!!! :-D). I would love to hear from anyone who has recommendations to share… Vampire romances, UF, paranormal, anything speculative… historical romances, mysteries, books that are different and unique… Let’s hear about them! (Writers, do you have a new release coming out this summer… don’t be shy! Add a short description and a link!) Anyone with a US address that comments is entered to win a book from my shelves (they are jam-packed and I want to share the overflow). Chance to win will close at midnight EDT June 20, 2013. Thanks, Celia and Carina, for guest blogging today!