Fireworks, Hot Dogs, Chlorine, Scorched Asphalt, and Love at High Tide

My last two guest bloggers in my Spring Into Summer Romance series are from Washington Romance Writers, a fun, friendly writers group that also happens to host great, informative meetings. Christi Barth is here to talk about her upcoming contemporary romance, Love at High Tide, which releases July 8th. I love the cover! It’s so summery. Even though we live in Maryland, we go to Ocean City, New Jersey, but I agree with Christi about how laid back the East Coast beaches are. We usually hit the boardwalk a few times and maybe go shopping one day, but the rest of the time we just relax under an umbrella. (I can’t wait!! 😀) Christi is giving away one e-copy of Love at High Tide. Leave a comment to enter to win!

Love at High Tide

Even though I’m from Los Angeles,

I never fully experienced the beach

until I moved to the East Coast

Summer brings a lot of evocative sights and smells to mind. Fireworks, hot dogs, chlorine, scorched asphalt….but universally, people agree that the beach always springs to mind. So I’m going to celebrate springing into summer by bringing you the beach.

No surprise, I’m visiting today because I’ve written a book set at the beach. Ocean City, Maryland, to be exact. Even though I’m from Los Angeles, I never fully experienced the beach until I moved to the East Coast. Sure, we’d drive out to the Pacific for the day, but with the traffic-filled, hour-long commute each way it didn’t happen often and became a flurry of checking things off the to-do list. Play beach volleyball. Explore the tide pools. Grab lunch. But the beaches in Maryland and Delaware are much more laid back. You don’t do anything. You just soak in the sights and sounds and enjoy the lull of the waves. The silken sand underfoot. The energetic hopping of the sandpipers. And in my case, reading up a storm beneath a beach umbrella.

I’m not a morning person. Ever. But the beauty of the beach is something that must be experienced at all times of day and night. Here’s a peek at dawn in my book, Love At High Tide:

The ocean shimmered with fifty shades of gray. At its very edge, between sky and surf, a thin line the color of a pearl shimmered, slowly widening its way toward dawn. A trio of tan pipers poked their beaks in and out of the sand. Darcy breathed it all in. The peace of the beach settled over her. It calmed her much faster than the valium shot the paramedic had offered both she and Trina.

Coop stroked his fingers through her hair. “My plan is to get you breakfast from the Fractured Prune. Best donuts on the planet. They’re hot, and you get to pick a glaze and toppings. My favorite’s the Pebble Beach, with honey glaze, cinnamon sugar and mini chocolate chips. I need at least six dollars for that.” He paused their slow stroll to shake his head. “Sorry. I get a little spacy at dawn o’clock. This is all the long way of saying I can only offer you about a dollar fifty for your thoughts.”

Oh, yeah. I forgot to mention that our beach has terrific donuts. I can’t give you a peek at what I wrote about sunset at the ocean – spoilers! – but I will give you a tiny hint at the beach smells:

As he leaned close to her, Coop caught a whiff of coconut and vanilla, hanging like a piña colada cloud. It made him want to lap at her skin and find out if she tasted as good as she smelled. Probably a good idea, though, to start with at least a few minutes of small talk before nuzzling her neck.

Hmm. I should also mention that there are hot guys at the beach. Maybe that’s what makes it so spectacular….Point being, if you can’t get to the beach this summer, let me take you there.  Love At High Tide will be a sassy and sexy mini-beach vacation for you. Here’s the blurb to make you start seeing those striped umbrellas above and scuttling crabs below:

Darcy Trent is lucky Cooper Hudson is on hand to sweep her off her feet—literally—when she nearly drowns while swimming in the ocean. But life-saving aside, Mr. Perfect’s timing stinks: Darcy’s career is about to take her to the complete opposite side of the Atlantic. Still, a little summer loving with the tall, blond and sexy former cop is far too tempting to pass up.

When his plans to enter the Secret Service went south thanks to a bum knee, Coop retreated to the family beach house to mull his future. Romance is the last thing on his mind, until he fishes a curvy brunette out of the sea. Now, spending time in Darcy’s arms seems like the ideal distraction, even if it is just for a week.

But with Darcy’s departure date fast approaching and their careers on the line, can they realize in time that their beach fling might become the real thing?

LOVE AT HIGH TIDE 

is available for pre-order here:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

More about Christi

Christi Barth earned a Masters degree in vocal performance and embarked upon a career on the stage.  A love of romance then drew her to wedding planning.  Ultimately she succumbed to her lifelong love of books and now writes contemporary romance.  Christi is President of the Maryland Romance Writers and lives in Maryland with her husband.

Website | Blog | Pinterest | Twitter |

Goodreads | Amazon Author Page |Facebook

What’s your favorite beach? When you head “down the ocean” do you spend most of your time in the water, your beach chair, or in the sand? If you’re not a beach person, what’s your favorite place to go? Leave a comment until June 30th for a chance to win an e-copy of Love at High Tide (international) and a book from my collection (US). Thanks for guest blogging today, Christi! Hope everyone is having a great week!

Published by

Jill Archer

Jill Archer is the author of the Noon Onyx series, genre-bending fantasy novels including DARK LIGHT OF DAY, FIERY EDGE OF STEEL, WHITE HEART OF JUSTICE, and POCKET FULL OF TINDER.

10 thoughts on “Fireworks, Hot Dogs, Chlorine, Scorched Asphalt, and Love at High Tide

  1. Winners! bn100 won the book I was giving away for this post and Janice won the e-copy of Love at High Tide that Christi was giving away. (bn100, I’ll e-mail you the updated list. Janice, Christi will be in touch with you to arrange delivery of her e-book). Thanks, everyone!

  2. I have to agree with Jill that Ocean City, NJ, is one of the best beach locations. However, experiencing the beach at dawn is best done when you’ve been up long enough to see it come ’round again. In fact, some friends who met regularly at an early hour would say thay met at “the crack of dawn.” Soon it became “the butt crack of dawn,” and eventually it was shortened to simply “the butt.” Yes, mornings are generally not much fun.

    As for the beach itself, I’ve never been a fan. My fair skin sufferend too many terrible burnings for me to enjoy sitting out on the beach cooking all day. Also, the sand seems to creep into every crevice and joint in the most uncomfortable way possible. That said, the shore environment is great, especially at night. The boardwalk games, smells of food and funnel cakes, amusement park rides and water parks, arcades, miniature golf, ice cream stands and restaraunts and all the trapping of summer are found in one place. So, while I love the shore towns, I’m not a beach-goer.

    Regardless, congratulations to Christi for the publication of her novel.

  3. Hello Christi! Glad to “meet” you on today’s blog. It was interesting to me to discovery from this interview that the East Coast is more laid back than the West Coast. I had always heard that the water on the East Coast was far too cold to enjoy, unlike the Calif. beaches I’ve frequented. The next time I’m on the East Coast I will have to visit the water there! I’m happy to be introduced to a new romance author and look forward to your stories. jdh2690@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

