I mentioned earlier I was participating in NA Alley’s NAmazing Adventure. I’m featuring Dark Light of Day in the event, which starts today. It’s a blog hop with six different quests. At the end of each quest is a set of questions. Questers/adventurers have a week to complete all of the quests. Speed doesn’t matter, but accuracy does — so take good notes! 😀 Possible prizes include ARCs, print books, ebooks, eGift Certificates, etc. My post is below…

NAmazing Adventure

Welcome to my stop on the NAmazing Adventure, a blog hop featuring over 60 New Adult authors, and prize packs that include ARCs, signed books, gift cards, swag, and more! If you’re not sure what the NAmazing Adventure is, please click here to start from the beginning and read the complete rules on the NA Alley website. Now let’s get this journey on the road!

Jill Archer's Dark Light of Day

Armageddon is over. The demons won. And yet somehow…the world has continued. Survivors worship patron demons under a draconian system of tributes and rules. These laws keep the demons from warring among themselves, the world from slipping back into chaos.

Noon Onyx grew up on the banks of the river Lethe, daughter of a prominent politician, and a descendant of Lucifer’s warlords. Noon has a secret—she was born with waning magic, the dark, destructive, fiery power that is used to control demons and maintain the delicate peace among them. But a woman with waning magic is unheard of and some will consider her an abomination.

Noon is summoned to attend St. Lucifer’s, a school of demon law. She must decide whether to declare her powers there…or attempt to continue hiding them, knowing the price for doing so may be death. And once she meets the forbiddingly powerful Ari Carmine—who suspects Noon is harboring magic as deadly as his own—Noon realizes there may be more at stake than just her life.

Excerpt from Dark Light of Day

This scene is from Chapter 7 and takes place in a dark, dusty, secluded area of Corpus Justica, the law library. Noon declared her magic the night before. Ari is another student at St. Lucifer’s. Hyrkes are humans with no magic.

“I couldn’t let you be killed,” he continued, “and not because I know your father or because we could use your magic, and definitely not because your failure to declare would reflect badly on me.” He snorted. “You know full well the reason I don’t want you killed, but you refuse to accept it. You’re still trying to hide,” he murmured and I shivered beneath him. “But I won’t let you.”

He kissed me then and it was unimaginably different than any other time I’d been kissed. I surrendered completely. Despite the awkwardness I felt, this was what I had wanted. I felt like a weak, knobby kneed girl who’d just swooned in her lover’s arms, but Ari’s kiss made me feel deliciously feminine. His mouth came down on mine insistently, his lips soft but firm, his grip quickly moving from my chin to the back of my nape as he tilted my head back to gain greater access. His tongue darted across my lips, an unmistakable question.

Would I yield to him?

I did. What else could I do? I wanted him in the worst way. He assailed me both physically and magically. The skin beneath my demon mark burned, my whole being coursed with heat. Waning magic swirled around us and Ari stood up, pulling me to him.

“I’ve wanted to do this since the first time I saw you,” he said. His voice was gravelly and rough, rumbling deep within his chest. There was an unusual rawness to it. I would have rolled my eyes and made a joke about the bounds of his arrogance being so great that he was determined to have every conceivable sexual experience, even those that bordered on the exotic or bizarre. But there was something eerily serious about his gaze as he looked at me. A joke seemed inappropriate. I settled for an incredulous look.

“Noon, don’t you know how beautiful you are?”

Men had called me beautiful before. But they’d all been Hyrkes, unknowing of my true nature, of what I was really capable of. If they’d only known what was lurking beneath my pretty porcelain shell . . . My magic flared up, vicious and strong, all soft edges made sharp again, the last few minutes almost forgotten.

“Let me help you,” Ari said gruffly. “Let me teach you how to control your magic.”

“What’s in it for you?”

“You, I hope,” Ari said, meeting my magic with his own. He didn’t try to soften my edges; he just parried them with his own.

“I can’t stop thinking about you, you know,” he said, squeezing me to him. “You fascinate me.”

He followed up his declaration with another kiss, this one more scalding than the last, and then dropped me back into my seat, breathless and wanting.

Got that jotted down in your quest scroll? 😉

Great, because you’ll need it for the quiz at the end of this quest! And remember, you must complete ALL SIX quizzes to be eligible for a prize pack.

Want another chance to win

Dark Light of Day?

After the NAmazing Adventure ends, I’ll pick one commenter from this post who will win a print copy of Dark Light of Day. To be eligible to win, you must live in the U.S. –or– The Book Depository must ship to your address. Tell me whether you’ve ever kissed anyone in a library before… what your favorite NA book is and why… if you’re a fantasy fan… what movies you’ve seen or want to see this summer… where you’re from… or anything else you want to share.

Thanks for stopping by. Ready to move on?

Click HERE to go to the next stop on your adventure!

Happy Monday, everyone!