Summer 2013 has been busy and full of experiences both large and small…

Giant zucchini…

and not as many tomatoes

Giant Zucchini

For those of you that garden, has this been a weird year for you? Our zucchini and summer squash has grown like crazy, but the tomatoes (which I usually have enough of to set up a roadside stand) have been lean this year.
Faced with such green abundance, I had to search for new and creative ways to use the zukes and squash. Found a great recipe for zucchini, summer squash, and scallion pancakes. Served with sour cream, they reminded me of pierogies.

What would Sam-I-Am say about green pancakes?
What would Sam-I-Am say about green pancakes?
Maybe my unusual garden experiences are due to the STRANGE WEATHER we've been having... Took this at my in-laws one day when it was both sunny and rainy
Maybe my unusual garden experiences are due to the
STRANGE WEATHER we’ve been having…
Took this at my in-laws one day when it was both sunny and rainy

Library of Congress

My talk at the Library of Congress earlier this month was great! It was fun discussing the many inspirations for the Noon Onyx series, as well as chatting about the various genre elements that are present in the books. And, of course, it was really nice meeting everyone who came up after to have books signed. If any of you live near DC or will be traveling there in the future, I encourage you to check out their Science Fiction and Fantasy Forum. They host SF/F speakers once a month. Free and open to the public. Events are held in different places in the LOC. Personally, I loved the Pickford Theater. Intimate and cozy. Terrific place for a lunch time chat!

My husband, Craig, came down to help out. He helped with the slideshow and passed out books.
My husband, Craig, came down to help out.
He helped with the slide show and passed out books.

Me at podium Outside of Jefferson Building 2 awesome shirt

Lake Weekend

I made a promise to friends and family that I would spend more time with them after I turned in book #3 (White Heart of Justice). And I have been! Nothing like a little R&R to get you excited and in the mood for the next big project!

Lake

Have you been anywhere fun or relaxing this summer? Taken any leaps of faith… or just jumped into a lake?Jump

Movies!

Have been catching up on movies, both in the theater and out. Finally saw Oz. It was okay. James Franco is interesting. I loved him in 127 Hours, but not as much in Oz. I don’t think his blunt acting style was a good fit for a character that was supposed to capture our imagination. He always comes off as very grounded (almost wooden), which is an odd trait for a wizard who was transported to another world via air balloon and magic to have.

Also saw Admission (more drama than comedy, which surprised me, especially since Tina Fey and Paul Rudd were leads), I Give It A Year (kind of an anti-romance, although it ended well enough and was funny), and Bourne Legacy (if you like action spy thrillers and Jeremy Renner, Ed Norton, and Rachel Weisz – who doesn’t? – then this is the movie for you).

Still some summer blockbusters on my list to see. We’ll see if I’m able to make it to the theater before they’re gone. What about you? Seen anything good lately?

Noon Onyx Series / Website

For any of you that missed it, I did a post on Raphael Sinclair and Guardian Angels for Dangerous Romance’s Author Take Over summer event.

I’ve also been working on some “Extras” to add to my website – like a Glossary. A few of you have mentioned that something like that (which would include pronunciation tips 🙂 ) would be helpful. Let me know if you have any other ideas of things you’d like to see on the site. More on that to come…

NAmazing Adventure Winner

I went high-tech to draw a name for my NAmazing Adventure post winner. I wrote all of the names on slips of paper, crumpled them up, and had my daughter draw one. Vernadene was the winner! Thank you, everyone, for participating. It was a fun event.

* The winner for the Bewitching Book Tours Sizzling Summer Giveaway Event will be announced soon too. (I’ll post the winner’s name in the comments section of that post). And I always e-mail the winners too.

Hope everyone is having a fantastic summer! 😀