Dark Tower, vintage gaming, entertainment, 80's board games

Are you old enough to have played Dark Tower as a kid? My husband’s birthday was last week and his mom surprised us by giving him a vintage Dark Tower game. Apparently, he and his brother and parents had spent many a night playing it decades ago. (As with King’s Quest, Dark Tower wasn’t a game I played as a kid. Inside, we played Risk, Monopoly, D&D, and various other video games. Outside, Kick the Can and Flashlight Tag). But, of course, I’ve heard of Dark Tower! Who could forget the Orson Welles commercial?

So we were all pretty excited to take a trip down nostalgia lane and play the game.

Dark Tower, vintage gaming, entertainment, 80's board games

Dark Tower, vintage gaming, entertainment, 80's board gamesAfter immediately losing two warriors to plague, I headed straight to the bazaar to buy a healer. I quickly added a scout to avoid getting lost and a beast to carry all my GOLD. Was cursed not once, not twice, but THRICE by my own family members!

Thought the fact that the battles with brigands and the dragon didn’t give me any experience was odd, but overall, I was pretty darn impressed with all the stuff the little computer inside the Dark Tower kept track of. For 1981, this game was ahead of its time.

Pegasus made a very late showing in our first game, after two players had already attacked the tower. (Had to wait for our second game for the elusive Dragonsword to come into play. And then my husband was the one who found it!)

Dark Tower, vintage gaming, entertainment, 80's board games
I couldn’t resist a little “what if…?”

The first time I approached the Dark Tower (not having played before), I didn’t know what to expect. I laughed out loud when I saw that I’d tried to attack with only 6 warriors. (No less than 54 brigands were lying in wait). Other newbie mistakes I made? I starved some of my men out of ignorance. I found the way the game kept track of food confusing. I wasn’t paying attention (duh) to the “Death March” that had sounded at the beginning of my turns when I was running low on food.

Dark Tower, vintage gaming, entertainment, 80's board games

By the end of my first game, I’d tried to storm the tower twice, but I never had enough men for the final battle. The good news? No one else won either. At 12:21 a.m., we threw in the towel. To be continued…

Dark Tower, vintage gaming, entertainment, 80's board games

Dark Tower, vintage gaming, entertainment, 80's board gamesHow about you? Did you ever play Dark Tower as a kid? Do you remember the commercials? What was your favorite game from the 80’s? If you missed my post about King’s Quest (vintage gaming on an IBM PC Jr.) and want to read, click here. Hope you’re all having a great week!