UF author Kathleen Collins is touring with Bewitching Book Tours to promote her October 28, 2013 release, REALM WALKER. In connection with her tour, she’s giving away a Halloween themed prize pack and eight e-copies of REALM WALKER. Welcome, Kathleen!

urban fantasy, Realm Walker, Kathleen Collins

So I’m one of those people that never has a shortage of ideas. In fact, my idea file on my computer is pushing two hundred ideas. Some of those are just a line or two of something that occurred to me. Others are several pages of notes. Those ideas cover historicals, sci fi, fantasy, paranormal, contemporaries and on and on it goes. Obviously most of those ideas will never get used simply because I don’t think I could ever write that many books and I’m constantly getting new ideas. The ones I keep returning to are the ones that take place in fantasy worlds.

There are multiple reasons for this, but perhaps the biggest one is I get to create. I’m not talking about writing the book itself here, I’m talking about creating a world. I get to make the rules, bend the rules and throw them completely out the window if need be. If I want everyone in my world to have purple skin, I can do that. If I want my vampires to have babies I can do that, too. It’s my world and whatever I say goes.

Now that doesn’t mean I don’t have to keep track of the rules of my world. I can’t have purple skin in chapter one and green skin in chapter three unless there is a darn good reason for it. Readers of these genres are generally willing to suspend disbelief but that only goes so far. What it does mean is that I am in control. Realm Walker for example takes place in a world very much like ours, but different in major ways. And these differences affect everything else in the world, from politics to entertainment. It’s the molding and shaping of the worlds that I love.

Sometimes I’ll find myself writing something and I’ll think, ‘oh, I can’t do that’. Then I’ll look at it again and think, why not? It’s my world, my creation, and no one can argue that I’m doing it wrong unless I cease to follow my own rules. And a lot of what I create may never be seen by the reader. For example, in my world leprechauns can take on the appearance of any humanoid creature. That means they can be two feet tall or six feet tall, with red hair or blond, and their appearance can change in a second. Why do you think they’re so hard to catch?

I’m not ruling out writing in a genre where the rules of the world are firm. In fact, I have a contemporary idea that’s been bugging me for months. I’m just not sure I’ll have as much fun playing in worlds where I don’t get to make all the rules.

More about Realm Walker

An estranged mate, a mangled body and a powerful demon who calls her by name…

As a Realm Walker for the Agency, Juliana Norris tracks deadly paranormal quarry using her unique ability to see magical signatures. She excels at her job, but her friends worry about her mysterious habit of dying in the line of duty without staying dead. That’s only the first of her secrets.

Most people don’t know Juliana became the mate of master vampire Thomas Kendrick before he abandoned her seven years ago. Most people don’t know the horrors she endured at the hands of the vampire he left in command. Most people don’t know her true parentage, or why a demon on a world-threatening rampage has taken a personal interest in her…

Even as Juliana pursues the demon, it goes after all she holds dear—including Thomas, who is back to claim her for his own. But if she can’t reconcile her past and learn to trust herself again, she will lose him forever.

Realm Walker can be pre-ordered here:

More about Kathleen

Kathleen Collins
Kathleen Collins

Kathleen Collins has been writing since Kindergarten. And while her ability has drastically improved, her stories are still about monsters and the people who play with them.

The rare instances that she actually finds some spare time, she spends it playing with her two boys. Three if you count her husband.

She is currently hard at work on her next book.

FIND KATHLEEN ONLINE HERE:

Giveaway

And don’t forget to click here to enter to win Kathleen’s Halloween themed prize pack (US only) and/or 8 e-copies of REALM WALKER!

Realm Walker Banner Tour

So, speaking of Halloween themed prize packs… now that it’s October, who’s excited for Halloween?! Are you dressing up this year? If so, as what? If not, why not? Are you buying candy? Will you be watching horror films all month? Which ones? I want the details, people! 😀

Thank you for guest blogging today, Kathleen! Good luck and best wishes for REALM WALKER’s release!