Isabella Norse is my next guest blogger. Some time ago I put out a general call to all writers, both pubbed and unpubbed, to come guest blog. One of the ideas I suggested was writing about your favorite bookstore or coffee shop. Izzy contacted me and said she’d love to do a post about her favorite coffee place, Bare Bulb Coffee in Kathleen, Georgia. If you have a favorite bookstore or coffee shop that you’d like to write a post about, please feel free to contact me. Welcome, Izzy!

Bare Bulb Coffee
BARE BULB COFFEE

“Bare Bulb is much more

than ‘just’ a coffee shop”

I have a confession – coffee shops intimidate me. I study the menu carefully and place my order with great trepidation only to find that what I thought was a hot drink is actually cold or vice-versa. Latte? Frappe? Half-soy double-shot? I always feel like I’m in a foreign land without a Starbucks-to-English dictionary. I’m too embarrassed to ask for help and admit that I’m the only one on the planet that doesn’t know the secret language. It’s far easier to simply avoid them like the plague.

Imagine my quandary when I learned that Bare Bulb Coffee – a local independent shop – was hosting a Writer’s Workshop. Gah! Writing is my passion and I have become a bit of a workshop addict, jumping at any chance to learn more about my craft. But a coffee shop? Really? After giving myself a you-can-take-this-hill pep talk worthy of many a military movie, I finally sucked it up and registered. I’m so glad that I did! Not only was the workshop great, but so is Bare Bulb.

At first glance, Bare Bulb looks like any other coffee shop. Friendly employees greet you when you enter and a strategically placed display case tempts with yummy treats guaranteed to blow your diet out of the water. Not in the mood for a pastry? Never fear, the menu includes more substantial fare available at both breakfast and lunch. The assortment of beverages – both hot and cold – should please any enthusiast. Seating is ample and conducive to both intimate conversations and large study groups.

But, look closer. Bare Bulb is much more than “just” a coffee shop. The differences start small with fair trade coffee and organic teas, and grow from there. Bare Bulb’s calendar is packed with events ranging from art classes and book clubs to knitting and yoga. Local artists are invited to display their paintings and photographs on the walls while local musicians take the stage on Open Mic Nights. Every Friday the Backpack Buddies gather to fill more than sixty (!) backpacks with food to help those children who rely on free meals at school make it through the weekend. I could go on (and on and on), but you get the idea.

Why such a difference? According to its website, Bare Bulb is actually a 501c3 not-for-profit organization “committed to doing something good in the world.” Nikki Collins Macmillan, also known as the Head Percolator, calls this process “shedding light.” Every time someone buys a cup of coffee or participates in a class, they help the light shine a little brighter.

Bare Bulb celebrates its third birthday this month and I’m so grateful to Jill Archer for giving me the chance to introduce you to this awesome organization. I hope that you will take a few minutes to check out Bare Bulb’s website and learn more. If you’re ever in the area, stop by and say hello and let them know that Izzy sent you. Oh, and try a Salted Turtle Brownie – you won’t regret it!

More About Izzy

Isabella Norse scored major “cool mom” points by playing the same video games as her sons and their friends. In these virtual worlds she slayed demons and destroyed machines bent on galactic extermination while simultaneously wooing cocky assassins and sexy aliens. She fell in love with the make-believe worlds and rich characters that inhabited them and now writes her own sci-fi and fantasy tales of love, romance and adventure.

Still a gamer – and still cool – Isabella lives in Georgia with her husband and a herd of rescue cats. She loves to hear from readers and can be found on Facebook, Twitter, and at isabellanorse.com.

So how about you? Do you have a favorite coffee shop? Do you hang out there and do stuff or do you just buy your coffee and go? Any thoughts on Starbucks moving in to your local Target? I feel the same way about Starbucks as I do about Barnes & Noble. Love ’em, wanna support ’em, but also love the indies. Thanks so much to Izzy for writing a great post about her favorite indy coffee shop!