The plan was to post an interview of Imogen Rose today but I totally screwed up and didn’t get her the questions on time. So I’m doing a spotlight for her, which I normally don’t do. Big apology to Imogen! But you all get a chance to read about UPRISING, her latest paranormal YA novel, which is book #2 in her Bonfire Chronicles. You also have another chance to win her great tour-wide prizes, which include a $50 Amazon gift card, 10 Kindle copies of her novel INITIATION, and 10 Kindle copies of her novel PORTAL. The Rafflecopter link is below. Hope everyone is having a nice weekend! [Saturday afternoon update: Check out Imogen’s Q&A below. Her birthday is on Halloween. Pretty neat, huh? Anyone else have a Halloween birthday?]

paranormal young adult novel

Interview with Imogen Rose

Jill Archer: You have two different series, the Portal Chronicles and the Bonfire Chronicles. It looks like the two series can be read together. Do they share characters or settings?

Imogen Rose: They very much share settings, and the Portal Chronicles eventually blends in with the Bonfire Chronicles. I always tell my readers that the books are best read in the order that I write them (Portal, Equilibrium, Quantum, Faustine, Momentum, Initiation, Integration, Fusion, Uprising), though the two series can be read separately.

JA: Can you tell us a little bit more about UPRISING? Who are the main characters? What’s the Bonfire Academy like?

IR: Uprising is the fourth installment in the Bonfire Chronicles. The book is divided in four parts, and the story is told from two POV’s—Cordelia and Faustine. And the rest of the Bonfire favorites are back, as are some characters from the Portal Chronicles. The Academy is a dangerous training ground for the offspring of the elite global supernaturals.

JA: Love those names — Cordelia and Faustine. So, in addition to being a writer, you’re also an immunologist. It sounds like fascinating work. Do you use things that you’ve learned on the job in your books?

IR: I guess it was an inspiration for aspects of my first novel. I use what I learn from every part of my life, from being a mom to my love of shopping, in my stories.

JA: I agree that inspiration can be found almost everywhere. Speaking of everywhere, you’ve lived in some diverse places — Sweden, London, and New Jersey. I read in your bio that London is one of your favorites. What do you love about it?

IR: I felt like I spent my formative (as a new adult) years in London. It was where I landed my first (apart from vacation work) job, bought my first house, and really laid down roots. It felt like home.

JA: Are you dressing up for Halloween this year? If so, what’s your costume?

IR: It’s my birthday on Halloween, so I fight the cute neighborhood monsters and princesses with Chanel. My younger daughter is now at an age that she’d be mortified if I dressed up. Wait! Now, there is a thought…

JA: lol. Sounds fun. Best wishes for a terrific birthday. Thanks for the interview!

More About Uprising

The global infrastructure that allows humans and supernaturals to coexist is under threat. A breakdown of this carefully maintained system erupts into worldwide chaos and could eventually lead to Armageddon.

Code Uprising is activated.

The power of the supernatural world shifts from the city councils to Bonfire Academy and the other elite paranormal preps. Now, the staff and students must follow the code, however deadly the ramifications, to return power to the city sovereigns in order to prevent an apocalypse.

UPRISING is available for purchase here:

Kindle   Kobo   Paperback

More About Imogen

Imogen Rose
Imogen Rose

Imogen Rose is the author of the bestselling series, the Portal Chronicles, which has attained cult status within indie literature and become a favorite among teens and adults alike. An immunologist by profession, Dr. Rose published her first work of fiction in 2010. She now writes full time and is currently working on her second teen series, the Bonfire Chronicles. Imogen was born in Sweden and has lived in several places, counting London among her favorites. She moved to New Jersey in 2001. A self-confessed Hermès addict, Imogen freely admits to being obsessed with Kurt Cobain. She enjoys shopping, traveling, watching movies, and hanging out with her family, friends, and Chihuahua.

Imogen can be found online here:

If you would like to enter to win the $50 Amazon gift card, 10 Kindle copies of her novel INITIATION, and 10 Kindle copies of her novel PORTAL, click here. Thanks to Imogen for the chance to win some awesome prizes!

Uprising Banner