S and Kindle Fire
The two gifts I was most excited about getting this year were
J.J. Abrams and Doug Dorst’s ‘S.’ and a Kindle Fire HDX.

I’ve been looking forward to reading ‘S.’ since I first heard about it. And really, all I’ve heard about it is three things: (1) it’s a book for bibliophiles; (2) it’s a book that must be read in physical form because of all the tangible and non-digitally consumable extras (the postcards, maps, margin notes, handwritten napkins, etc.); and (3) it was written by J.J. Abrams and Doug Dorst. I’ll admit that I hadn’t heard of Dorst until I heard of S. but I’m really excited to see what he came up with. The premise – a story inside a story, written in the margins and on things slipped inside the book – is such a neat concept. At $35.00 it was a splurge, so I put it on my Christmas list with a very strong hint to my husband that he’d better not wait to buy it from our local bookstore.

'S' by J.J. Abrams and Doug Dorst

S by J.J. Abrams and Doug Dorst
All the goodies sticking out of ‘S’

The second gift I was super excited about was a new Kindle. Until Dec. 25th, I’d been reading on my trusty second generation Kindle and, while I still sort of have a sentimental attachment to it, it was time to upgrade. For those of you who don’t remember or never had one, the second generation Kindles are black & white and have no ability to stream content. I only used mine to access the Kindle store and buy books (not that that’s a bad thing, which is why it’s taken me so long to upgrade). But now it’ll be really cool to watch movies, surf the web, and see all those amazing book covers IN COLOR! 😀

Goodbye Kindle 2!
Goodbye Kindle 2!

How about you? Did anyone give you anything awesome, amazing, or inspiring? I hope so!