Jocelynn Drake: Writing from a Man’s POV (BONUS: great giveaway; fun cover contest)

Today’s guest blogger is New York Times bestselling urban fantasy author Jocelynn Drake. She is releasing three new Asylum Tales novellas: Demon’s Fury (today!); Demon’s Vow (Oct. 21), and Inner Demon (Oct. 28). Instead of writing them from her Dark Days heroine Mira’s point of view, they are written from Gage’s point of view. She’s here to discuss what writing from the guy’s POV was like. She’s also giving away a complete set of the e-novellas. Because I am Rafflecopter challenged, however, there are only two ways to enter: comment below or vote for your favorite Asylum Tales novella cover via tweet. The tweets and other giveaway details are below. Welcome, Jocelynn!

Stepping into Gage’s Shoes:

Understanding a Man’s Point of View

When I started writing novels from the first person point of view, there had been no question in my mind that my main character would be female. As a woman, this was instantly the safest and wisest course of action.  I know that men and women see the world differently.  There’s a mountain of books that have been written on how the men and women view their environment differently.  I didn’t want to worry about sounding male when my main concern at first was sounding like a 600-year-old vampire (that’s hard enough!).

But as I worked on the Dark Days series, I decided to stick a toe in the water in the fourth book (PRAY FOR DAWN) by telling the story from the vampire hunter Danaus’s point of view.  Not the easiest of tasks, but it was definitely fun and interesting.

When the Dark Days series came to an end a couple of years ago, I was presented with the opportunity to try something completely different. The doors were thrown open to my imagination and the sky was the limit.  It was thrilling and exciting!  I was back to playing god and the cosmos was spread before me, waiting for my unique brand of insanity.

One of the first things I decided was that I wanted to step away from the female point of view. I loved working with my vampire Mira.  I loved her temper, her intense concern for her close friends, and the internal struggles that waged within her on nearly every page.  I loved her because she was so damaged and because she had to be the potential to become the villain as easily as she had the potential to be the heroine.

But with the Asylum Tales, I needed to stretch my skills and tackle some new terrain. Gage was the perfect chance.  As the idea for the series started to form in my mind, the realization that my narrator was going to be male was one of my first decisions and I have never wavered from that.  I wanted to try to see the world through a guy’s point of view.

With Gage, my first thought was that I had to watch the emotional baggage and turmoil. Mira walked around unable to completely shed the demons from her past.  Gage has his own dark shadows, but he keeps them largely buried in the past.  The other thing that I’ve tried to keep in mind with Gage is that I’ve tried to rein in his emotional impulses.  When things go wrong, his first desire is to jump in and act, but unlike Mira, he’s been a little more careful, planning ahead in hopes of saving his own skin.

I think one of my favorite things is that I’ve turned off the little censor man when I’m writing as Gage. Most people are gifted with a little man in their brain who is able to stop most of the stupid things that we think from coming out their mouths.  Gage’s censor man takes a lot of vacations and I’ve enjoyed just letting the first things that come to him exit his mouth.

Gage has been fun to work with because I think he represents all the male friends I’ve had during my life as well as both of my brothers. While Mira tapped into my own personal dark side, Gage has been a great chance to stroll through some wonderful memories with old friends and family.   And like Mira, Gage has become a part of my private writing family along with Mira, Danaus, Tristan, Valerio, and Jabari from the Dark Days series.

More About Demon’s Fury

Jocelynn Drake continues her successful urban fantasy series, Asylum Tales, with Demon’s Fury, set in a world where elves, faeries, trolls, werewolves, and vampires walk free among humanity.

Powerful warlock and tattoo artist Gage has managed to escape the magical Ivory Towers who terrorize the rest of humans and monsters – but at a price.

Now he must join forces with his nemesis Gideon to stop an unknown entity who is using old magic to commit gruesome murders. And if that’s not keeping him busy enough, an investigator recruits Gage to help her track a killer … who might be targeting tattoo artists.

Available at Amazon

More About Demon’s Vow

Tattoo artist and warlock Gage is having a rough week. He’s trying to track down a mysterious murderer in Low Town while also chasing a powerful entity using forbidden Death Magic across the nation.

When Gage discovers the two forces may be trying to unite, the stakes get even higher. With Gideon’s help, Gage is determined to stop the murderers before anyone else gets hurt – including his girlfriend, Trixie.

Available at Amazon

More About Inner Demon

Gage is a powerful warlock in Low Town, where elves, faeries, trolls, goblins, and vampires walk free among humanity. But there are two dangerous entities murdering families and children, and Gage needs to stop them before anybody else gets hurt.

When Gage discovers a demon locked away it offers him access to dark magic in exchange for its freedom – a dangerous opportunity, but one that could save his loved ones. Gage must choose between what is right and what is easy … except he’s running out of time.

Available at Amazon

Jocelynn Drake
Jocelynn Drake

More About Jocelynn

By day, Jocelynn Drake is a clean-cut financial editor, picking apart stories about Wall Street and the global markets. But in her free time, she writes about a dark underworld where vampires and warlocks rule.

The author of Dark Days and Asylum Tales series, she lives in Florida with her husband, dog, and cat. When she’s not working on her next book, she’s usually hiding from the sun by playing video games.

She can be found online here:

The Giveaway

Jocelyn is giving away one e-book set of all three novellas:

  • Demon’s Fury
  • Demon’s Vow
  • Inner Demon

To enter to win, comment below by answering one of my questions, asking one of your own, or just saying you’re interested in reading the books. You can ALSO enter to win by voting for your favorite cover via tweet with one of these tweets:

My favorite Asylum Tales cover is @JocelynnDrake’s DEMON’S FURY. #urbanfantasy #giveaway @archer_jill http://wp.me/p1G39m-20o

My favorite Asylum Tales cover is @JocelynnDrake’s DEMON’S VOW. #urbanfantasy #giveaway @archer_jill http://wp.me/p1G39m-20o

My favorite Asylum Tales cover is @JocelynnDrake’s INNER DEMON. #urbanfantasy #giveaway @archer_jill http://wp.me/p1G39m-20o

Giveaway ends at midnight EDT on 10/31/14. I’ll announce the winner here by 11/7/14.

No purchase necessary. Void where prohibited. Open to international participants 18 and over.

One tweet/entry per person.

See my Giveaways page for official rules.

AsylumTales Series Banner

Questions:

Readers — Do you like stories written from a woman’s POV, man’s POV, multiple POVs, or don’t care so long as it’s a good story?

Writers — Do you find it hard to switch character POV?

Most of my followers know that my Noon Onyx series is written from Noon’s POV, although there’s a brief scene in the middle of Fiery Edge of Steel from Rafe’s POV and White Heart of Justice‘s prologue is written from Ari’s POV. Those scenes were both fun and challenging to write because they weren’t written from Noon’s perspective. Plus, the scene with Rafe was written from his perspective as a six-year-old boy and Ari’s was written from… well, let’s just say a perspective that was new to readers for reasons other than it being written from a man’s POV. 😀

Good luck and best wishes, everyone!

Thank you, Jocelynn, for guest blogging today!

Published by

Jill Archer

Jill Archer is the author of the Noon Onyx series, genre-bending fantasy novels including DARK LIGHT OF DAY, FIERY EDGE OF STEEL, WHITE HEART OF JUSTICE, and POCKET FULL OF TINDER.

23 thoughts on “Jocelynn Drake: Writing from a Man’s POV (BONUS: great giveaway; fun cover contest)

  1. * THE WINNER IS: DAWN CAVENEE

    Congrats, Dawn! I’ll send your email address to Roxanne, who is handling the giveaway for Jocelynn.

    Thank you, everyone else, for commenting and tweeting! I think contests like this are fun. 🙂

    Best of luck to Jocelynn for her Asylum Tales novellas!

    Happy Friday, all!

  2. Jocelynn is amazing! And I am patiently waiting for the physical book to be released although I did preorder Demon’s Fury. 🙂 I prefer to read the same character’s point of view. I don’t want the story to change during the book or even the series. With that being said, I will read either male or female pov. What is the title of the physical book of the Asylum Tales going to be?

    1. Hi Dawn,

      Jocelynn can jump in if I’m wrong, but I would imagine, if she is going to do a print version of her final Asylum Tales stories, they would have the same titles: Demon’s Fury, Demon’s Vow, and Inner Demon.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      1. I believe I read that it will be one physical book which will include all three ebooks. Whatever the title is, the book will be adopted into my private library. 🙂

    1. Hi Aletia– great to see you here! I really enjoyed Jocelynn’s post and think it’s neat that she’s releasing all three of her novellas within a few weeks of one another.

      Good luck to your mom and happy reading to you both!

  3. I like books written from multiple points of view as long as the author stays in one head per scene.
    Thanks for the opportunity to win. I love Jocelynn Drake’s books.

  4. I love reading a storyline from a man’s POV but there are times when an author crosses a line and the POV becomes stereotypical of what the author believes or wants to believe is in the mind of the average male.

    But I recently read a parallel storyline ( from a favorite series) written from the man’s perspective and the entire novella read like an instruction manual of curse words, slang, graphic sexual images and animalistic thoughts and needs. If this is what the human male thinks and does on a daily basic, it is a miracle the human species still exists…today! 😉

    1. Hi Sandy,

      I imagine what the human male thinks and does on a daily basis is as different from man to man as it is from woman to woman. 😀

      My favorite parallel POV scenes give me MORE in a positive way: a deeper understanding of the second character’s thoughts and feelings; a deeper understanding of how the second character sees the first character. I also think it’s neat when there are little inconsistencies between two versions of the same story and those inconsistencies illustrate something meaningful.

      Stereotypes can be tough to take. Both in life and in fiction.

      Thanks so much for stopping by and adding your thoughts to the discussion. Hope you’re doing well!

  5. i love the cover of demon’s fury! it’s my favourite from teh three
    i don’t mind male point of view but what i prefer is to see the same scene from both point of view ( kind of like ilona andrews did when offering us the Curran point of view)

    thanks

  6. I love books with different POV. I enjoy reading a male’s POV I like how it’s different. There are so many female POV so it’s great to see a change. Plus I love guys lol of course that’s not the only reason I enjoy male POV 🙂

Leave a Reply

