My next guest is Karen Greco, author of Tainted Blood, the second urban fantasy novel in her Hell’s Belle series. She’s here to talk about one of the things I find challenging: writing fight scenes. She’s also giving away ten e-copies of her latest release as well as some custom-made vampire stakes like the one Nina uses in Tainted Blood (U.S. only). The Rafflecopter link and other details are below. Welcome, Karen!

urban fantasy

Hell’s Belle readers know how much I love my fight scenes. They are my favorite moments to write. Some people are lovers, some are fighters. My characters are a whole lot of both.

When I started working on Hell’s Belle and found my fight writer calling, I knew I had to learn how to fight. I needed to feel my fist hit something (in my case, a heavy bag), to check the angle of my hip while I swooped in a round house kick, to know that the impact felt like when it connected.

Now, when I sit down to write the fight scenes, I often find myself jumping up out of my chair and marking out the scene’s progression. Nina flips a baddie over her back, I simulate it in my kitchen! Nina drops out of the way of a punch, to the floor I go! My puppies think I am either insane or the Best. Dog. Mom. Ever.

Sometimes the moves are damn near impossible for my all-to-human body to execute without one or two (or many) Three Stooges moments. But honestly, I really should not be able to do the moves. I am not a vampire, after all. I don’t have the speed, strength or agility of Nina. But I am able to execute it enough to get the basic feel, and I can share it with my readers. (And yeah, I know, “that’s not realistic!” Of course it’s not! I’m writing about VAMPIRES!)

And you know what? It feels damn good to get off my butt and move around a little.

So, when your reading Hell’s Belle or Tainted Blood, and you come to a fight scene, you can be assured that the moves were road tested before ending up on the page.

More About Tainted Blood

After surviving a vampire assassin (not to mention an awkward affair with a hot FBI agent that ended worse than she could have imagined), witch/vampire hybrid Nina Martinez is reunited with the full Blood Ops team in Providence, Rhode Island. Her Aunt Babe is tutoring her in all things witchcraft, and her vampire partner Frankie is enjoying the benefits of daywalking, courtesy of a demon spell.

When a segment of the Rhode Island vampire population is marked for death by a tainted blood supply, Nina and her team race to find Patient Zero before the local vampire population is wiped out. But when a demon infestation threatens to take control of the city, Nina must join forces with newly elected mayor—and closet demon— Ami Bertrand before the city falls into ruin.

Filled with fast-paced, edge-of-your-seat action, Nina and her group of supernatural misfits battle a surprising new enemy that threatens their very existence.

No wonder she still can’t get a date.

Karen Greco
Karen Greco

More About Karen

Karen Greco has spent close to twenty years in New York City, working in publicity and marketing for the entertainment industry. Originally from Rhode Island (she loves hot wieners from New York System, but can’t stand coffee milk), she studied playwriting in college (and won an award or two).

After not writing plays for a long time, a life-long obsession with exorcists and Dracula drew her to urban fantasy, where she can decapitate characters with impunity.

Her first novel, Hell’s Belle, was released in 2013. Tainted Blood is the second book in the best-selling Hell’s Belle urban fantasy series.

Karen can be found online here:

The Giveaway

At the end of her tour, Karen is giving away ten e-copies of Tainted Blood. Winners will also receive a custom-made vampire stake similar to the one used by Nina from Tainted Blood. U.S. only.

To enter, click here for the Rafflecopter link.

Click here for my complete giveaway rules.

Free Short Story Prequel

River Vamp

River Vamp: A Hell’s Belle Prequel Short Story

Frankie and Nina head to New York City for an early Blood Ops mission. Guess what they fish out of the Gowanus Canal?

Free at Smashwords

Tainted Blood Banner

So, writers, how about you? Are fight scenes easy or tough for you to write? Do you act them out in your head or in your kitchen?

Readers, do you have a favorite fight scene? Have you seen Fight Club? (How bad is it that I haven’t?)

Thank you for guest blogging today, Karen!