My next guest blogger is Beth Caudill, who makes chainmail jewelry. Pretty cool, huh? (After hosting this season’s “Writers Who Create Other Things” guest blog series, I’m thinking that jewelry is the most popular “other” thing that writers create — or at least the most popular other thing that writers who contacted me create. I can understand the appeal and have to admit, I’ve thought about it. But, for now, I’m happy just listening to other writers’ stories of how they started making jewelry.) Welcome, Beth!

chainmail jewelry, Beth Caudill, fantasy, author, books

 “The businesses of writing and selling jewelry are very similar. You need a unique, easy to identify brand and a distinctive product.”

Thank you Jill for having me here today.

Growing up, jewelry wasn’t something I had an interest in. My father would give my mother necklaces or earrings for Christmas but I didn’t really want any of my own.  I bought a class ring when I graduated high school and I had a few special necklaces from vacations but nothing spectacular.

Fast forward several years and I’m a stay-at-home-mom with two small kids. I began writing as a way to stay sane.  I’m extremely introverted and being at home with two small people all the time can be very trying. You can’t even escape to the bathroom—any mother knows little hands and cries of “Mooommmm” follow you everywhere.

My escape was into the fantastical worlds I created with my romantic fantasy and paranormal romance stories. But I needed to do research, particularly for my magical stories. Usually magicians cast or draw power through items such as stones, wands, amulets or crystals. Suddenly I had a bunch of resources on making jewelry and the history of gems and crystals.

In my Paranormals of Arilase series, there are two elements which will be present in each story. Each heroine will have a jasper pendant to channel their power and a wedding. In Healer’s Fate, Corliss, a werewolf healer, used a red jasper pendant.  In Enchantress’ Destiny, my current work-in-progress, Clairessa, an elf, uses green jasper to channel energy for her spellcasting.

At one of my local romance writers workshops, another author’s husband was selling chainmaille jewelry. The silver rings were so pretty connected together in different weaves or patterns. I did some research and ordered a beginner set to try for myself.  The design I wear the most is this flower chain bracelet.

chainmail jewelry, Beth Caudill, fantasy, author, books

After making a few pieces, I gave my mother and mother-in-law gifts of silver chainmaille. They loved it and talked me into trying to sell my items.  I’ve had an Etsy account for two years but it hasn’t been very productive.  This year, I’m focused on attending craft fairs to showcase my work.

The businesses of writing and selling jewelry are very similar. You need a unique, easy to identify brand and a distinctive product. While I love creating both my stories and jewelry, the hardest part for both businesses is connecting with the ideal customer.   I’ve found it’s easier to concentrate on creating stories and not worry about sales with the writing business.  But with the jewelry, I have a bunch of inventory and no one is buying. It’s disheartening.

I’ve had a lot of people say they like my designs but no one buys. One great thing has been the other sellers I’ve met. Like with the writing community, there have been wonderful people who’ve given me suggestions on things I can do to improve the chances someone will buy my jewelry – such as shortening the length of my earrings.  It’s wonderful that I’ve found two communities where people are willing to share their experiences and help each other.

Right now my biggest hurdle is time. I’m homeschooling my two sons and that has to be my number 1 priority. Both writing and jewelry making occur during my free time and some days I’m too exhausted to attempt either. Generally I try to do my writing in the morning or early afternoon and my jewelry making at night. But sometimes I have to devote all my time to one business or the other for a week.

I have lists of goals for both businesses and ideas to try in the New Year. It’s a bit like a juggling act and I don’t always succeed. But I enjoy both writing stories and making jewelry so I’m still trucking along.

chainmail jewelry, Beth Caudill, fantasy, author, books

More About Beth

Beth loves everything fantasy and grew up a lover of fairy tales. Her favorite TV shows are Once Upon a Time and Leverage because both combine a bit of good with a hint of wickedness. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and homeschools her two sons and their Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. In her free time, Beth creates fantastical distant worlds for her romantic fantasy and paranormal romance stories. And for a bit of bling, she weaves metals rings and crystals into beautiful chainmaille jewelry.

Did everyone have a good weekend? I took my younger daughter and a friend to see Big Hero 6 Saturday night. It was great! Baymax was adorably huggable. 🙂 Also loved the animated short, Feast, that played before it began.

Have you seen Big Hero 6? Do you want to? What did you do this weekend? Do you think Beth’s chainmail jewelry is as cool as I do?

Thank you, Beth, for guest blogging today. Best wishes for lots of holiday sales!