Nancy Gideon shares her Five Photographs today. If you’re a fan of nutcrackers and groundhogs or want to gripe to a very willing audience about construction, commuting, or traffic OR IF YOU WANT TO WISH NANCY A HAPPY BIRTHDAY (it’s today) then this post is for you…

Something that represents something unique about you

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I obsessively collect things I don’t have room for. I’m a Christmas-aholic with nutcrackers, music boxes and Santa Clauses of every shape and size. My desk is overrun with typewriters, tiny tea sets, shot glasses from places I’ve traveled, Tarot decks, favorite hero-inspiring actor of the moment’s video collections, lighthouses . . . and jewelry.  It don’t mean a thing if it ain’t got great Bling!  Can you say OCD much?

Something that represents where you live

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

We have four Seasons in Michigan.  That’s the rumor. My favorites are spring and fall but unfortunately those only last a week before jumping right to humidity and mosquitoes or to ice scrapers and snow drifts. It’s either constant AC or blast furnace heat. There’s rarely middle ground.

Your pet or plant or thing you care for (besides your human family/friends)

Nommer 2014

The harbinger of spring is Nommer, my apartment complex’s groundhog who provides endlessly entertainment with a yearly crop of babies and no maintenance for me.  Here he is checking to see what I’m grilling on my balcony – three stories up. I’m addicted to all thing fur, fin and feather both inside and free range,  and have pampered everything from tropical fish and aquarium frogs (left over from a Scouting badge) to guinea pigs, an Australian cattle dog and the wild birds I coax to my 4th floor balcony to entertain my cats Scotch and Stubbs (sounds like an ‘80s cop show!).

Something (not someone) that really frustrates you

Cone Zones

The minute snow is off the ground, up come the detours and the Cone Zones making that 15 minute commute to work into 30-45 every summer.  Patch it, dig it up, surface it, tear it up again, patch it, resurface until you just can’t get there from here.  I am not a patient driver. Especially when listening to Rob Zombie.

Something that brings you joy (besides writing)

Jungle retreat

Making my 3rd floor patio into a pseudo-backyard oasis. No mowing, great for Vitamin D therapy while plotting that next chapter and just enough room for my new mini-grill. Now if we could just get rid of the freeze warnings so I could start planting!

Interview

What’s the elevator pitch for your latest published novel?

For my Dana Ransom contemporary romance, FROM THIS DAY FORWARD (currently $1.99 (!) as an Amazon Big Deal): Feeling responsible for the tragedies that befell those they loved, two wounded souls don’t feel they have the right to happiness. Widowed on her honeymoon, Robyn Lee pours all her unfulfilled hopes into her wedding planner business, making priceless memories for others. The last thing she needs is for the irresponsible brother of her dream client to rock the boat . . . and her regimented life. A gritty news cameraman recovering from the loss of his coworker in the field, Kyle Travers doesn’t believe in the perfect world Robyn’s created to hide her own heartbreak, but he’s begun to think just maybe two fractured halves can make a stronger whole – if only he can convince her.

What are you working on next?

I’m about 400 pages into the next book in my “By Moonlight” dark paranormal shape-shifter series. I’m optimistic about a late summer release for UNLEASHED BY SHADOWS. Squee!

What are you currently reading?

Just finished Dean Koontz’s The City on the plane back from vacay in Arizona. He’s my go to guy for a good read. Reading copy edits and page proofs for the 9 books in my “Touch of Midnight” vampire romance series is currently consuming my life.  ImaJinn Books is reissuing a book per month starting in July beginning with the first three that have been out of print since the ‘90s!  Then I’ll be impatiently waiting for the 3rd book in Justin Cronin’s post-apocalyptic vampire series.

What are you currently watching (TV shows)?

My DVR runneth over with Penny Dreadful, House of Cards, Supernatural (I’m just starting Season 4 with 6 more to go!), Castle, and The Originals. All my other favorites – Blacklist, Secrets and Lies, Vikings, Gotham, American Horror Story, Ray Donovan, and The Strain are on hiatus – so now I have more writing time! I’m still mourning the end of Justified. Best-Writing-Ever.  And my law office co-workers and I just love watching Maury during our lunch hour (guilty pleasure!).

Favorite fantasy creature, villain, or weapon not from your own work?

I’m loving the monsters from Showtime’s Penny Dreadful!  They’re creatures taken from classic horror tales like Dracula, Frankenstein and Portrait of Dorian Gray with a fresh twist or a unique interpretation.  I can’t wait to see what (or who) turns up next! Of course Josh Harnett’s tortured werewolf is my favorite.

Biggest challenge facing writers today?

Breaking out of the pack – which is now HUGE due to self-publishing – especially when so many books are free.

How can we meet that challenge?

Making personal connections with readers through Social Media.  Facebook author pages that host events, street teams, blog tours and chats, giveaway Hops (there are always a few not just looking for free stuff!), active blogs and Twitter sites that aren’t just screaming “Buy My Book”, and web sites that offer extra content i.e. deleted scenes, sneak previews, and character galleries are all great, but raise the question of when can you find time to write while doing all that promotion?  So do what you love and what works for you. I have a fabulous “Nancy Gideon by Moonlight” Goodreads group that hosts events, chats and Buddy Reads, and I host a unique Haunted Open House in October that brings in a lot of traffic.  It’s a slow, time-consuming effort to build a reader base but worth it when you get that excited feedback regarding your next project. Give more than you expect to get back. Word of mouth is priceless.

Nancy Gideon
Nancy Gideon

More About Nancy

Nancy Gideon is the award-winning author of over 58 romances ranging from historical, regency and series contemporary suspense to dark paranormal, with a couple of horror screenplays tossed into the mix.  She works full-time as a legal assistant, and when not at the keyboard, feeds a Netflix addiction along with all things fur, fin and fowl. She also has written under the pen names Dana Ransom, Rosalyn West and Lauren Giddings.

Thank you for the pictures and interview, Nancy! HAVE A WONDERFUL BIRTHDAY!!!