Went with my family to see the latest Star Wars installment last night. We couldn’t go over the weekend because we were doing holiday-ish things but, as it turns out, Monday night was the perfect night to see it. The theater was crowded but not super packed so there was room for our trough of popcorn, our ginormous boxes of candy and four giant sodas.

I’m worried that there hasn’t been enough coverage of this movie yet. That people may not be discussing it enough. And since my site is such an active hub of buzzy pop culture conversation, I figured this is what we should talk about today. 😀

Here are my thoughts, in no particular order. SPOILERS!!! (If you’re one of the only two people who haven’t seen THE FORCE AWAKENS, buy your tickets NOW!)

I LOVED IT!!! I went in with super high expectations and wasn’t disappointed. That’s a HIGH bar, which is almost never met. Loved everything everyone else has loved about it – the old characters, the new characters, its fresh yet familiar feel.

If I had one itty, bitty complaint, it was that I wasn’t expecting a plot that hued so close to the first Star Wars movie it almost felt like a remake. I’d expected that with Star Trek because that’s what it was billed as. But this wasn’t and so I went in expecting a more original story line. The movie sort of fell in this gray area between sequel and retelling. But you know what? Who cares? Because it was terrific.

The new leads, Rey and Finn were amazing. They were funny, charismatic, and easily characters I could root for. I loved their relationship and am eager to see where the filmmakers take it.

Han Solo’s death was horrible. I was putty in the filmmaker’s hands, desperately hoping with my heart that the scene wouldn’t end the way it did while my head kept telling me to get real. Storywise, had to happen, but that knowledge didn’t prevent me from imagining all sorts of implausible alternatives.

BB-8 was great! (His diminutive app-enabled doppelgänger will be making a reappearance under our Christmas tree. Whether it’s worth the hefty sticker price is less certain…)

I’m in the camp that wants Rey to be Luke’s daughter. I really do get those that say blood shouldn’t matter. That anyone can be a hero simply by acting heroic. That you don’t have to inherit the ability to save a world… or the galaxy. But this is Star Wars, folks. Total space opera. Luke’s the quintessential hero. Again, storywise, I feel like the entire three movie arc (Ep. VII-IX) has been established. Luke’s daughter must redeem Kylo Ren to make up for her father’s failing him. And if Rey turns out to be anything other than Luke’s daughter, all those awesome clues will be wasted. My favorite? The visual connections. Rey’s garb and speeder bike intentionally evoke young Luke. As for the camp that wants her to be Han and Leia’s daughter, this theory requires too many story machinations for me. I think the only reason it has so much traction is because brother versus sister is more epic than cousin versus cousin. But, if Rey turns out to be Luke’s daughter, then I view it as Luke’s daughter versus Leia’s son, which sounds pretty epic to me.

Worth noting that my younger daughter said this was the best movie she ever saw. That’s high praise coming from her. She’s my little SFF fan and she’s watched gobs of recent non-R-rated blockbusters. Rey definitely captured her attention. She told me she was glad they finally made a movie with a girl as the hero. Yeah, me too, kid. 🙂 [And, yes, I know there are plenty of stories with girl heroes, but none at this level of fandom].

So what about you? Did you see THE FORCE AWAKENS? What are your thoughts?