I was going to do a Supergirl versus Shannara post this week but then I saw the news that Alan Rickman passed away. Like everyone else, I was surprised and sad about it. I didn’t know he was battling cancer and 69 is way too young.

When Leonard Nimoy died I laid on my couch and marathoned the first four Star Trek movies. I’m tempted to do the same this Sunday with Harry Potter movies but, since I watched all of them again just a few months ago, I’ll probably turn to some of his other work. Like the movie my husband and I still quote all the time – Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves. The movie itself was disappointing (Robin and Marian’s chemistry was non-existent) but Alan Rickman as the Sheriff of Nottingham was AWESOME.

Robin_hood_1991

Nottingham: “I’m gonna cut your heart out with a spoon!”

Robin Hood: [blah blah blah]

Sir Guy of Gisbourne: “Why a spoon, cousin? Why not an ax or a—”

Nottingham: “Because it’s dull, you twit. It’ll hurt more!”

Seriously, who can deliver lines that like and not only make them entertaining, but highly memorable?

If anyone else is considering a weekend Rickman marathon, here are some other choices (besides Harry Potter):

I feel like Alan Rickman had twenty or more movies left in him. So sorry I won’t get to see them, but will gladly watch the ones he made that I love over and over again.