Read: I’m currently reading Naomi Novik’s UPROOTED.

Write: The chapter I’m currently working on is called “Domesday Weapons.” Have been researching the Domesday Book, allodial title, the ancient Egyptian god Sobek, and Multnomah Falls, among other things.

Here’s a snippet (any bit of which might change before I publish POCKET FULL OF TINDER):

It was a bit eerie staring at myself.

I squinted at the familiar figure – a 22-year old female wearing black pants and a short wool cloak. She stood beside a barghest, a tiger, and a nymph, but though her companions were unusual, my gaze was drawn to her weapon – a fiery pepperbox that flickered dangerously in the hazy greenish-gray mist. Hopefully, the woman and her companions wouldn’t flicker tellingly as well. Fara and I had argued about the weapon, but she’d insisted the gun would look the most confident – if only because it was the most unpredictable.

The spell was called Simulacrum. Fara had recently learned it and suggested we use it this afternoon for our meeting with Acheron. Considering the river demon had chosen the Memento Mori viaduct as the site of our meet, I’d readily agreed. Even if my father hadn’t warned me to use “extreme caution” when meeting him, I would have anyway. Afterall, this was the place where over a hundred people had lost their lives only three short months ago.

Have your kid talk you into using Snapchat’s filters: If you’re getting this post via email, you’re going to have to click through to see my ridiculous selfies. Stay safe & warm, East Coasters!