From now until mid-June, I’m counting down my ten favorite SF/F TV shows – ranking them from least to most. Least favorite doesn’t mean it’s bad though. If it’s on my list, it means I liked it enough to watch beyond the pilot. My thoughts on each are included and, for once, these are SPOILER FREE posts.

9. Shannara [demons/elves/druids]: A guilty pleasure type of show. Kinda reminded me of my brief but furious flirtation with Reign. Based on Terry Brooks’ books, which I haven’t read (it’s possible I read The Sword of Shannara a million years ago but, if so, I don’t remember it). In any case, this is an MTV show, which seemed like an odd pairing, but it worked well enough to be entertaining. I watched it with my kids. My youngest liked it, although I fast forwarded through some scenes. Lol. For tween girls, I gotta say that I’d recommend Supergirl over Shannara. Supergirl didn’t hold my attention as much as Shannara did (although Calista Flockhart as Cat Grant was great; I miss Ally McBeal!) but my youngest is a devoted Kara Zor-El fan.

How about you? Did you watch Season 1 of Shannara? What did you think? Have you read the books? Are you a Supergirl fan?