From now until mid-June, I’m counting down my ten favorite SF/F TV shows – ranking them from least to most. Least favorite doesn’t mean it’s bad though. If it’s on my list, it means I liked it enough to watch beyond the pilot. My thoughts on each are included and, for once, these are SPOILER FREE posts.

8. Bitten [werewolves]: I started watching this show on a whim because I was folding laundry one day (MY MOST HATED DOMESTIC CHORE; IT IS THE MOST MIND-NUMBINGLY BANAL TASK; I HATE IT!!!) and then, somehow, got sucked in. Based on Kelly Armstrong’s Otherworld series (I think I read Dime Store Magic a thousand years ago but I have only the barest recollection of it). Elena Michaels is the only female werewolf in existence (apparently, the first change is so intense, us fragile females can’t hack it; but hey, I also write a series with a woman-who-is-the-only-such-and-such so I get its appeal. TV show Elena is a little too Barbie-doll perfect but she really grew on me. She’s tough and will do anything for those she loves. And what can I say… her torturous relationship problems are entertaining. (Rotten Tomatoes, you suck. Embrace the Bitten!)

How about you? Do you watch Bitten? Love werewolves? Full moons? Women-who-are-the-only-such-and-such? Have you read the Otherworld series? (I’m betting a lot of you have!) Check out Bitten and tell me what you think!