From now until mid-June, I’m counting down my ten favorite SF/F TV shows – ranking them from least to most. Least favorite doesn’t mean it’s bad though. If it’s on my list, it means I liked it enough to watch beyond the pilot. My thoughts on each are included and, for once, these are SPOILER FREE posts.

6. The Magicians [magicians]: SyFy show based on Lev Grossman’s books. The first book is sitting on my shelf but I haven’t had a chance to read it yet. (Ugh. I hate it when that happens, but the show looked great and I wanted to watch). Seems everyone is describing this as an “adult Harry Potter.” I guess. Comparing any story to Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, or Game of Thrones sometimes feels lazy to me, but I do it too. What else can I tell you? The magic is neat, the villain is creepy… Quentin and Alice bug the ever-living crap out of me sometimes…

How about you? Did you see or read The Magicians? What did you think? What would you compare it to?