Asteroid Day… Etc.

I’m back! After blogging nearly every day during the first part of June, I went radio silent for the last two weeks. Part of why was that we went to Florida for a while. Bucking social media trends as always, I almost never post during my vacations. I’ll share a little bit about that trip in a later post. Here’s a hint about where we went:

Waiting for the bus...

In any case, I returned from vacation with an elephant-sized pile of laundry to do, a Nile-length list of emails to slog through, and a new summer schedule to get used to.

Did I mention that I’m a part-time librarian now? I am!! 😀

My local library just underwent a big expansion/renovation and, as a result, they hired a handful of additional part-timers. Considering my love of books, research, chatting with people of all ages about stories in any format, and my desire to find a steady source of bookish income, the job is PERFECT FOR ME!!!

Our new library is beautiful—twice the size now with all sorts of nice features: meeting rooms, reading nooks, public computers, as well as laptop bars for patrons who bring their own, teen/tween/children’s areas, and a maker space, which is one of the neatest parts. Libraries are doing their best these days to transform their spaces into places where all members of the community can meet, learn, read, and create. Maker spaces/tinker labs provide a place where artists and other creators can come together to share tools, knowledge, and camaraderie.

Writerly news: I’m expecting my editor’s notes on Pocket Full of Tinder any day now. Once I get them, I’ll have a better idea of how long it will take me to revise (ahem, maybe even rewrite some of it). Part of me now thinks I’m EVEN MORE INSANE THAN I PREVIOUSLY THOUGHT for deciding to continue the Noon Onyx series on my own.

When I decided to write and publish book 4, I didn’t realize that not having the rights to books 1-3 would limit me as much as it does. That doesn’t mean I regret publishing with Ace!! (as if) It just means that I didn’t realize, before I committed to self-publishing Pocket Full of Tinder, that not having control over series pricing and packaging means that I won’t be able to offer “first in series free” deals or boxed sets… etc…

(For background on why series get orphaned, see my contribution to SF Signal’s 8/14/14 Mind Meld, “What’s Your Take on Author Legacies? Should Unfinished Series Remain Unfinished?” or, more recently, Suzanne Johnson’s post from today, Shop Talk: Why Series Are Orphaned.)

That said, I’ve got my hands full with just trying to publish B4 let alone do any collective anything with respect to the entire series. I’ve loved certain aspects of self-publishing (working directly with my cover illustrator/designer, being able to hire an editor who only needs to worry about the manuscript/story), but I can’t say with any credibility that I’m loving trying to juggle everything by myself.

That’s all for now. If you’re a new blog subscriber or just stumbling across this post–final reminder! Today is the LAST DAY to sign up for my newsletter in order to be eligible to win my June prize:


Fireball Laser Cut Wood Earrings + small SWAG pack
-OR-
a book from Book Depository (up to $10)
(winner’s choice)

Goodies in the SWAG pack include:

Atomic fireballs (super hot cinnamon candy!)
Book cover charms
Artist Trading Card created and signed by yours truly
Bookmarks
+
Misc bibliophile buttons (wear with pride, people!)

Contest is open to international, however, any winner who does not have a U.S. address will receive the book. All newsletter subscribers as of June 30, 2016 will be entered. I’ll announce the winner in my next newsletter and will also get in touch with them via email. Complete rules for my giveaways can be found here.


Oh, and – hey! – today’s Asteroid Day.

These Lakes Are Actually Craters Made By Asteroids” is my favorite article from today about asteroids. Enjoy!

Published by

Jill Archer

Jill Archer is the author of the Noon Onyx series, genre-bending fantasy novels including DARK LIGHT OF DAY, FIERY EDGE OF STEEL, WHITE HEART OF JUSTICE, and POCKET FULL OF TINDER.

7 thoughts on “Asteroid Day… Etc.

  1. Hello,
    I just wanted to let you know I adore your Noon Onyx series and I can’t tell you how happy I am that you are writing the fourth book Pocket Full of Tinder. Thank you so much for all the hard work and effort you have put into this fantastic series. I am looking so forward to this book and I am crossing my fingers if their is even a slight chance of getting an ARC .

    Thanks again
    Alexandra

    1. Hi Alexandra–thank you so much for this comment!! It’s terrific hearing that you’ve enjoyed the series and are looking forward to B4. I’m sure I’ll do some kind of ARC giveaway. Just have to work out the details. Stay tuned…

      Have a great night! 🙂

      1. Hello,

        Thank you so much for the reply and thank you for continuing the story! Oh that is such wonderful news! I admit if I get an ARC of this book it will be a dream come true and I will keep my eyes out 🙂

Leave a Reply

