Today’s post is all about HallowRead, the book festival and mini-con for authors and fans of paranormal, urban fantasy, steampunk, and horror. It’s happening on October 21-23 in Havre de Grace, Maryland. I’m giving away one ALL-INCLUSIVE TICKET (includes Friday Workshops, Saturday Panels, Ghost Tour, Book Signing, and Sunday Brunch & Wine Tasting). Details on how to win the ticket are below. For those of you who can’t make it, here’s a fun Halloween themed Q&A with me and two other HallowRead authors:

RYSA WALKER is the author of the bestselling CHRONOS Files series. Timebound, the first book in the series, was the Young Adult and Grand Prize winner in the 2013 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Awards. The CHRONOS Files has sold nearly half a million copies since 2013 and has been translated into ten languages. Rysa currently resides in North Carolina with her husband, two youngest sons, and a hyperactive golden retriever. When not working on the second book in The Delphi Trilogy, she watches shows where travelers boldly go to galaxies far away, or reads about magical creatures and superheroes from alternate timelines.  She has neither the time nor the patience for reality TV.

DYLANN RHEA was raised in a small town in Bergen County where she still lives today with her family. She has always shown a passion for writing despite the difficulty she faced in school with dyslexia. Rhea spent most of her time daydreaming and writing during her childhood with no vision of becoming an author. After attending community college for a semester, she decided to pave her own path and create the world she wished she could have read about as a young adult. She published her first two books, Tormented Soul and Fallen Warrior, in 2015.

What’s your favorite Halloween treat?

Rysa: Take5 bars that I steal from my kids’ haul on Halloween.  I don’t buy the darn things, because it’s one of the few candy bars that I will scarf down with a shameless lack of self-control.  I may have to break the no-buying rule this year, however, since my guys now insist that they are too old to trick-or-treat and it’s really not Halloween without Take5.

Dylann: What isn’t my favorite? Honestly, I eat any treat you put in front of me, however I really enjoy the classic Candy Corn. You can never go wrong with the classics.

Jill: Twizzlers and Sour Patch Kids… also caramel apples, salted caramels, Milk Duds, and Milky Ways. I don’t think I’ve ever had a Take5 though, which means I’m going to have to hunt one down now to see what I think.

What do you think this year’s most popular Halloween costume will be?

Rysa: I’m pretty sure Star Wars will top the list.  I’m guessing we’ll have about as many Reys at our door as we did Groots last year, and Harry Potters a few years back.  Those were my favorite Halloweens, because I could dress  up as Bellatrix and chase all of the little Gryffindors around the cul-de-sac shouting “I killed Sirius Black!” without the neighbors complaining.

Dylann: I wouldn’t be surprised if the ‘joke’ costume is either Trump or Hillary. The kid’s costume is always tricky, but I think this year it could be Star Wars costumes. I know I dressed up as Jarjar when I was in Kindergarten even though everyone hates him.

Jill: I’m wondering how many Harley Quinns I’ll see and if that’s a good thing or a bad thing…

Do you have a favorite horror movie?

Rysa: I love scary books, and I like some scary movies, but not gory ones.  Spewing arteries put me off my popcorn (although probably not off my Take5 bars).  My favorite is probably “IT,” especially Tim Curry’s performance as Pennywise the Clown.  I’m more than a little afraid of clowns to begin with, so he scared the bejeezus out of me. 

Dylann: Horror is one of those things that I hate, thriller movies creep me out ten times more. If I had to pick it would be Friday the 13th. Someone invading your mind is horrifying and part of me feels like it could happen one day.

Jill: I think my current favorite is Spring. Other creepy, scary, and/or Gothic movies I’ve enjoyed: Sleepy Hollow, The Village, Underworld, Crimson Peak, Jane Eyre, Edwards Scissorhands, Shaun of the Dead…

If you could be any type of monster, which would it be and why?

Rysa: It wouldn’t be a clown, that’s for sure.  Maybe a dog-shifter like Sirius Black? My golden retriever has a pretty sweet life.

Dylann: Do witches count as monsters? I’ve been obsessed with them ever since I watched Charmed when I was younger. Witches have a perfect balance of being on the border of human, but not. There’s something so fascinating about them, but if witches don’t count werewolf in a heartbeat. There’s something sexy about the beast within and again you’re only a werewolf once a month so you have that humanity.  

Jill: A Valkyrie or one of the Furies for sure. 😀

Are you superstitious? If so, about what?

Rysa: Usually not, although I was somewhat more superstitious when I was a kid.  I’d worry a bit about my mom if I stepped on a crack in the sidewalk, and I’d avoid walking under ladders — although the last is partly because I’m so clumsy I’d likely knock the thing down.

Dylann: Hell yes! I’m always looking up my horoscope and reading my tarot twice a day. I LOVE seeing psychics and mediums, palms readers, the whole nine. Sometimes I play back my recordings of what a psychic has said to me and try to decipher it. I don’t believe in the whole walking under a ladder thing or black cats being bad luck. I do throw salt over my shoulder if I spill it.

Jill: I’m superstitious in the most inconsistent ways. I think nothing of stepping on cracks or walking under ladders, but I try not to open umbrellas in the house or break mirrors. I knock on wood, wish on stars, wonder if things really do happen in threes…

Have you ever seen a ghost?

Rysa: I haven’t seen one, but I’ve seen evidence of one.  When I was about seven months pregnant with my middle son, we had several odd incidents in our house.  A floor lamp suddenly dipped to one side, making the dog go crazy.  A piece of stuffing from a pillow  suddenly appears in a glass of water that was clear a second before.  Several other things happened that involved water, and all of this took place within a couple of days and then ended.  The family joke is that it was my son checking us out as potential parents to make sure we had a sense of humor. 

Dylann: No and I don’t have a desire to. I already know spirits exist, but I don’t need to be scared shitless and see one.

Jill: Only on-screen or in costume.

What is your latest book about?

rysa-walker-2Rysa: The previous question was a perfect segue, since my latest book, The Delphi Effect, which launches October 11th, is–at least in part– about a ghost.  Anna Morgan has the unfortunate ability to pick up mental hitchhikers who have unfinished business.  Her current hitcher, Molly,  is a bit more insistent than most, and Anna gets pulled into the search for a serial killer and a government conspiracy that could get Anna and her friends killed…but could also help her figure out the origin of her abilities.

One of the reasons that I’m really excited for this year’s Hallowread is that it’s located in Havre de Grace, Maryland.  Havre de Grace is one of the settings of The Delphi Effect.  Some scenes are also set in nearby Port Deposit–although I guess I should really say under Port Deposit…at the site of the former Tome School.  It’s great to be able to do my first post-launch event in an area that had so much influence on the book.

Dylann: Right now I’m in the process of finishing my first trilogy The Storm Trilogy which is about a young girl named Kaden who comes from a dysfunctional family and has in turn created her own idea of family through her sister and best friend, Megan. One night while she’s out with Megan, things go awry and Megan ends up missing. Kaden is forced to work with a young man, Finley, who shows Kaden a fae world hidden within the streets of Seattle. As Kaden gets pulled further into the darkness of the world, she realizes Megan is in much more danger than she thought.

Jill: Maegester-in-Training, Noon Onyx, heads to Rockthorn Gorge to work for its new demon lord – who also happens to be her ex-boyfriend.

Where can we find it?

Rysa: You can find The Delphi Effect, along with my other books, on my Amazon page and at select book stores.

Dylann: The first book, Tormented Soul can be found here and the sequel, Fallon Warrior, can be found here. Both can be purchased through Barnes and Noble upon request.

Jill: You can add Pocket Full of Tinder to your Goodreads shelf here and subscribe to my newsletter for future ARC and pre-order info.

Where can we find you at HallowRead?

Rysa: I wouldn’t miss the Ghost Tour in Havre de Grace on Friday October 21st.  I’ll also be on two writing panels, Saturday October 22nd.  The first is “An Architect and a Gardener,” which looks at the differences between writers who are plotters and those who fly by the seat of their pants. (I’m very much in the latter category!) The second is “Suspending Disbelief,” where the group will be looking at the challenges of writing magical stories while keeping it “real” enough that the reader buys into your world. Finally, I’ll be signing copies of The Delphi Effect at the Havre de Grace Library on Saturday afternoon from 4-6 PM.

Dylann: I will be on the Urban Fantasy Round up panel and hovering around the event all weekend so come say hello!

Jill: I’ll be at the Books You Can Sink Your Teeth Into panel and the book signing and generally around all day Saturday.

Where can we find you online?

Rysa:

If you find me at Facebook or on Twitter, please tell me to get back in the Writing Cave.  I spend way too much time there.  I’m also occasionally on Goodreads and you can get updates on my books, appearances, and other information at my website. Plus, if you sign up for my newsletter, you’ll get a free CHRONOS short story.

Dylann:


More about HallowRead

Multi author event with various activities throughout the weekend including Writing Workshops, Ghost Tour, SteamPunk Author Tea, Author Panels, Book Signing, Paranormal Investigation and so much more. Hang out with your favorite authors in our new host city, the haunted and historic town of Havre de Grace, Maryland!

Local Maryland author of dark urban fantasy, Rachel Rawlings, had a crazy idea. Create a book convention for genre fiction and hold it the weekend before Halloween. Haunted and historic Ellicott City held a special place in her heart so there was no other place to take her first ever convention. The town welcomed her and HallowRead with open arms. Each ticket sold helped raise money for the Ellicott City Partnership- a coalition of residents and business owners for the betterment of the town. HallowRead raised money for projects like rain barrels which help reduce the sediment and contaminants running into the Patapsco River and fund grants for projects like Paint Main Street which helped small business owners get a much-needed fresh coat of paint improving the moral and over all appearance of the town.

Rachel is excited to take the convention on the road for 2016 and raise funds for Harford County literacy programs and the local library system! One ticket, whether it’s a $10 paranormal investigation or the full monty ticket, makes a difference for the town and the wonderful people who call it home, something Rachel is extremely proud of.

Click here to see a list of HallowRead events.

Get your tickets here.

See a list of attending authors here.

For more about HallowRead founder, Rachel Rawlings, see this previous post featuring her Maurin Kincaide UF series.


More about the Ticket Giveaway

I’m giving away one all-inclusive ticket to HallowRead. To enter to win, comment below (answer one of the questions in the Q&A above) or contact me no later than midnight EST on October 4, 2016. My complete giveaway rules are here. Hope to see you there!

Thank you to Rysa and Dylann for the Q&A. It was fun reading your answers. I’m looking forward to meeting you in person in October.

Hope everyone’s fall is off to a great start!