It’s here! One of my favorite days of the year!!

Since I have to work tonight, I celebrated over the weekend. On Friday, I had drinks at the Millstone American Farmhouse Cidery with a few fellow librarians for happy hour. What a neat place! The owner acquired and restored an old grist mill, which you can tour – so, of course, I did because you all know how much I adore old buildings. They’ve put a lot of work into the old mill while still maintaining its original, rustic character. Very inspiring! I want to go back and sample more cider and learn more about the process of making cider, the apple varieties they use, etc. I tried four different ciders: Bonfire (“a hot cyser aged with smoked fish peppers”), Debauched (“a dry hopped cider smoked with juniper and applewood”), Cherrykriek (a seasonal, dark cherry cider), and a hot cider. My favorite was the Cherrykriek.

On Saturday, I took E and some friends to Maize Quest, which is an outdoor farm in central Pennsylvania with a giant corn maze, as well as a half-dozen or so lesser mazes and lots of stuff for kids to climb on (that’s E pictured below… I asked her if she could strike a pose against the setting sun just because I thought it would look neat. Nothing like doing a Lord of the Dance pose in muckers on a giant tractor tire! 😀 ). This year’s corn maze theme was Expedition Everest, which was pleasingly whimsical and incongruous. Maize Quest’s slogan is, “Get lost in the stalks.” We never truly got lost, but we had fun finding our way out.

Last night, I poured some Ghost Pines Pinot into my new Witchy Woman wine glass and carved pumpkins. As luck would have it, we had a brief power outage while we were carving. For one short moment, I felt a little bit like I was in a horror movie… and then the lights came back on. Pictured below from left to right are our 2016 masterpieces: Craig’s, Penny’s, E’s, and mine.

From our house to yours, HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!