Fellow Marylander N.D. Jones shares another batch of writer’s life photos, as well as information about her latest release, Bound Souls, a science fiction romance. Welcome, N.D.!


The Photographs

Something that represents something unique about you

nd-jones-baltimore

I was married at the National Great Blacks in Wax Museum in Baltimore, Maryland. Recently, my daughter was going through my wedding album. And, to my surprise, she had no idea her father and I were married at the museum, although she’s been there on field trips. Her older brother knew, so I assumed she did as well. Needless to say, that bit of old-new news led to a very nice discussion with my daughter while she flipped through the wedding album, asking questions and making remarks so typical of teenage girls who think themselves witty and cute.

Jill: My daughters like to look through family albums too. I wish I had more of them. I’ve been horrible about printing copies of my digital photos and putting them in albums.

Something that represents where you live

nd-jones-raven

I was born and raised in Maryland, and I love football. More, I love the Baltimore Ravens. Now, loving football and the Ravens does not equate to me actually enjoying watching my team play. Because, really, I don’t court that much angst and frustration in my life. Which, if you ever watched the Ravens play, you know precisely what I’m talking about.

Alas, no one in my immediate family is a football fan. Sometimes, we feel like we’re the only Marylanders who don’t watch fall football. 🙂

Your pet(s) or plant(s) or thing you care for

(besides your human family/friends)

nd-jones-stuffed-animals

While I consider myself a wonderful mother and wife, (No, you don’t need to verify my claim by asking my husband and children. Just take my word for it and the rest of this interview will go smoothly.) I haven’t extended my stellar nurturing skills to plants or animals. I do, however, have a collection of stuffed animals I keep on my bed—gifted to me by various members of my family. The cute unicorn in the pic is the most recent addition, given to me this past Christmas by my daughter. So, in lieu of taking care of something I could actually kill through neglect, I take care of a brood of stuff animals, who require nothing more than to be picked up off the floor every morning and placed back on their throne at the foot of my bed.

Everyone should have a rainbow-colored unicorn. Adorable!

Something (not someone) that really frustrates you

nd-jones-laptop

I have a love/hate relationship with my computer and Internet. I need both for professional, personal, and academic purposes—like most people. But the Wi-Fi in my home can be so frustratingly slow, at times, especially in the evenings when I need it the most. And I have this ridiculously large screen laptop with tons of features and great sound quality, which hardly matters at all because it’s obscenely slow. Not it’s-an-old-laptop kind of slow, because it isn’t, but overpriced-name brand-got-you-to-buy me-stupid kind of slow.

Would Pratt Library or BCPL work better for you some of those nights?

Something that brings you joy (besides writing)

nd-jones-comics

I’m a big comic book fan. I especially love reading comics with positively-depicted African American characters, as well as comics with awesome couples. A few of my favorite comics were canceled, such as Superman/Wonder Woman. And the superhero couples I used to love to read are no longer a couple, such as Storm and Black Panther. Sigh. I miss those days. But I still have Saga, which is great. And I just purchased the first issue of Tuskegee Heirs.

Neat!


The Interview

What’s the elevator pitch for your latest published novel?

A supernatural love triangle that tests the bounds of science, truth, and faith.

What are you working on next?

My goal is to complete the third and final book in my Death and Destiny paranormal romance trilogy. I love this witch/shapeshifter series. I’ve spent more time with the hero and heroine from this series than any of my novellas, the length giving me an opportunity to explore the characters and their unique world. For those interested readers, Of Beasts and Bonds, the second book in the trilogy, is free on Kindle Unlimited.

What are you currently reading?

Forever Vacancy: A Colors in Darkness Anthology. It’s a great collection of horror stories written by talented independent authors. There is a Colors in Darkness Facebook page and website that are platforms for fans of diverse, multicultural horror, dark fiction, and paranormal stories. If you haven’t checked out this one-of-a-kind book, I highly recommend the read.

What are you currently watching (TV shows)?

While I don’t watch television nearly as much nowadays, I started Emerald City a few weeks ago, which we watch, faithfully, as a family every Friday night. My husband and I also started watching Colony on Netflix. We just finished season one and are now picking up with season two on USA Network. Thus far, they are both well-acted and plotted shows, which is what I want in a television show.

Biggest challenge facing writers today?

As a self-published author, my biggest challenge is getting my novels before interested readers—finding my niche audience. I wish I had a magical formula to solve the challenge, but I do not. I’ve read books on marketing, as well as participated in webinars, all with a theory to promote the author platform and/or gain email subscribers. It’s an uphill battle, and one I have yet to master or conquer.

It’s an uphill battle for all of us. Stay the course! 🙂

How can we meet that challenge?

My goal is to be more purposeful and strategic with my marketing, using the vast experience of others to help me make better, more informed decisions.


More info on ND Jones and her recent release

N. D. Jones lives in Maryland with her husband and two children. She is the founder of Kuumba Publishing, an art, audiobook, eBook, and paperback company. Kuumba Publishing is a forum for creativity, with a special commitment to promoting and encouraging creative works of authors and artists of African descent.

A desire to see more novels with positive, sexy, and three-dimensional African American characters as soul mates, friends, and lovers, inspired the author to take on the challenge of penning such romantic reads. She is the author of two paranormal romance series: Winged Warriors and Death and Destiny. N.D. likes to read historical and paranormal romance novels, as well as comics and manga.

Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter

nd-jones-bound-souls

Regent Lela of Asiya is the most powerful person on her planet but she is powerless to save the life of her beloved soulmate—Zion Grace. For thirty years they lived as husband and wife, but Zion’s time is at an end. Lela must go on without him.

“There will never be anyone else for me.”

Despite having died, nothing can keep Zion from his soulmate. He’s back but not as the man he once was. Zion must help Lela move on with her life, lest he lose her forever. But how can Zion convince Lela to accept the love and affections of another man when he still wants her for himself?

“I love you, Lela. My heart is forever yours.”

Lela and Zion are bound souls, destined to live eternity together. For these lovers, death is not an end, but a fateful beginning.

Amazon | BN | Kobo | Inkterra | iBooks


Thank you, N.D., for the great interview and for sharing your photos. Good luck and best wishes!