Today’s guest is paranormal romance author, Marie Johnston, who is sharing her five photos, a little bit about her latest release, and who she’s currently reading. Welcome, Marie!

The Photos

Something that represents something unique about you

I play hockey, which isn’t terribly unique, but I didn’t learn until my thirties and I’d only ice skated once or twice before I began. My stops need improving and I’m working on skating backwards, but each time I build my skills. And even better, falling with all that gear on is so much nicer! My league plays for fun and it’s an incredible environment to learn in.

Something that represents where you live

I’m not too far from the Canadian border where winter brings a lot of snow and cold. Most winters we get brutally cold, occasionally reaching -40°F. Then add in the wind, and a -60°F wind chill isn’t unheard of. Snow amounts vary, but this winter we got hit with four blizzards in 6 weeks, each packing anywhere from 8-18 inches of snow. And since we don’t own a snowblower, we gutted through it all with a shovel.

Jill: Meanwhile, in Maryland, it was the Winter That Wasn’t.

Your pet(s) or plant(s) or thing you care for (besides your human family/friends)

I actually have two pets, an old kitty and a new puppy, but there’s no way the cat would agree to a photo-op together. My kitty is seventeen years young. We call her our little old lady who still goes out for bingo and happy hour. I think she’s good for a couple more years and that’s why we got the dog. The cat is the last of three we’d raised and we kept saying we wouldn’t get a dog until she passed. But year after year went by and she’s still with us, so we rescued a puppy. The dog thinks she fascinating. She thinks he needs to mind his own business.

She’s adorable! 🙂

Something (not someone) that really frustrates you

I don’t know what I would’ve done if the mismatched socks craze never happened. I don’t know where they all go, but I can buy a brand-new pack and wash them before anyone uses them, and they’ll still come out of the laundry without mates. That’s just one of my irritations with socks. The other is finding dirty socks EVERYWHERE—shoved into the cushions, behind the couch, scattered all over the floor, stuffed in the corners of our vehicle. I cleaned out our vehicle a few weeks ago and found six or seven (none matched). In fact, going through the pictures, I noticed a sock wadded up behind my skates…

The other day I found a pair of socks in my car too. They were black and my car mat is black, so I didn’t see them the day before. I think my daughter changed her shoes in between track and running errands? Kids! I also thought about sharing a picture of the laundry basket I have that is ENTIRELY FULL of unmatched socks. I need to just throw them out, but I keep thinking I’ll find their matches. Laundry (and unmatched socks) are one of my greatest frustrations too!!

Something that brings you joy (besides writing)

I grew up out in the country and my husband grew up farming and ranching, but our kids are first generation city kids. For years, we wanted to move out in the country and last summer we finally sealed the deal on our little slice of paradise. There’s no house yet, but some days, we take the kids and dog out so they can run wild. My favorite memory of the land so far is when my parents and the kids’ great-grandpa came out with us and they were helping the kids identify wildflowers.

Beautiful!


The Interview

What’s the elevator pitch for your latest published novel?

Kaitlyn Savoy’s shifter abilities came as a surprise and except for the pesky side effect of blacking out after shifting, she’s adapted well. If only her fellow Guardian, Chayton Eagle, would overlook her failing. When they’re ordered to work together, she suspects he uses derision to keep his distance—because while they may be destined mates, he reveals he’s promised to another. But no excuses, Kaitlyn deserves better.

What are you working on next?

Bishop is both the name of the book and the name of the character. It’s the third book in my vampire series and I hope readers still love vampires as much as I do. He’s the big teddy bear of his team until a demoness tricks him into a bond. Now she’s on the run from the underworld and he’s determined to reach her before anyone else. But his reasons for catching her change over the course of the book.

What are you currently reading?

Karen Marie Moning’s Feversong. I’ve had it on my Nook for a while, but hadn’t charged it because I had too much to get done. I still don’t have a binge-read opening, and it’s hard sticking to my routine when I want to ignore everything and read, but I’m almost done.

On my TBR list.

What are you currently watching (TV shows)?

Way too much. Elementary, Lethal Weapon, Big Bang Theory, Alone, and my hubs and just finished Lucifer—and Pioneer Woman because that one totally fits in.

J: 😀

Favorite fantasy creature, villain, or weapon not from your own work?

I had a hard time figuring this out until I started Feversong and there he was. Jericho Barrons. I love how dark and mysterious he is and totally dedicated to the cause, almost to a fault. He’s definitely a fantasy creature. In a way, he’s a villain, depends on the character and the day. And most definitely he’s a weapon.

Biggest challenge facing writers today?

Finding readers. So many books to choose from, how are any readers ever going to find ours? It’s hard to express how much I appreciate each and reader who gave my work a  chance.

How can we meet that challenge?

Find ways to connect. Newsletters seem to be the most efficient, but learning how to express ourselves and sell ourselves is a tough balance to find.

www.mariejohnstonwriter.com


Thank you, Marie, for sharing your pictures, stories, and thoughts!