Five Photographs: Isabella (Izzy) Norse

Today’s Five Photographs guest is Isabella Norse. Love dogwoods, dragons, cats, or hunting for fossils? Then this post is for you. Welcome, Izzy!

Something that represents something unique about you

Isabella Norse Shark Tooth

I love hunting for fossils! I’m not a strong swimmer and with my fair skin I sunburn easily, so unlike the rest of my family, I’ve never been a big fan of the beach. I began hunting shark’s teeth to kill time during our beach vacations and I’ve found hundreds of smaller teeth over the years along with other items such as fossilized sting ray barbs. I found the tooth in the picture during our vacation in May. It is by far the largest tooth I have ever found and it just fanned the flames of my desire to find more!

Something that represents where you live

I live in the Deep South where dogwood trees are endemic. Dogwood blooms are my favorite flower. It just doesn’t feel like Spring to me until the dogwoods are in bloom.

Your pet or plant or thing you care for (besides your human family/friends)

Isabella Norse Cats

I’m pretty sure I already qualify as a crazy cat lady. My husband and I have several indoor cats and socialize as many of the neighborhood strays as we can so we can have them spayed/neutered. I also give a percentage of the earnings from the sale of my books to support animals in need. Cricket and Toots (pictured) are the youngest in our furry herd.

Something (not someone) that really frustrates you

Isabella Norse Junk Mail

Snail mail is my kryptonite – it just sort of drains the life out of me. I shred, file, toss, and when I turn around, there is another stack awaiting my attention. It drives me crazy!

Something that brings you joy (besides writing)

 Isabella Norse Something That Brings Me Joy

It may sound cliché, but my husband brings me joy. We have been together over half of our lives and have come through some really tough times. He is my best friend, supports me in my writing endeavors and always loves me – even when I’m not very lovable.

Interview

What’s the elevator pitch for your latest published novel?

My latest published work is actually a short story – The Purrfect Partner. It is the first story in my Paws and Effect series.

[Jill: Paws and Effect. Love it. :-)]

Lorelei Stevens, newly certified veterinary technician, faces the future with a mix of excitement and dread. Freedom from the meddling of her well-intentioned friends is finally within reach. All she has to do is spend Valentine’s weekend dodging the unwanted attentions of strangers during the annual singles gathering at The Lodge. In return, her friends promise to never, ever set her up on another blind date.

Dalton Freeman, laid-back rancher, receives a getaway to The Lodge as a gift from his brothers. The catch? The gift is only good during Valentine’s weekend. So what if all of his attempts at online dating have failed miserably? There’s no reason for his brothers to play Cupid. Really.

When these two strangers pretend to be a couple for a weekend, will it be a disaster or will fate – and a half-frozen kitten – lead them to the purrfect partner?

What are you working on next?

I’m putting the finishing touches on a humorous, sweet, paranormal romance titled Dial V for Vampire. It is the first book in my Kudzu Korners series.

What are you currently reading?

I’m re-reading the Odd Thomas series by Dean Koontz. I just started the third book, Brother Odd.

What are you currently watching (TV shows)?

I have gotten hooked on the reruns of two series I never planned to watch – Castle and Criminal Minds.

Favorite fantasy creature, villain, or weapon not from your own work?

Dragons. Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Pern series is responsible for my overwhelming desire for a dragon of my own. Toothless from the How to Train Your Dragon movies has reinforced that desire.

[Jill: Love Toothless! Anyone wanna see my friend’s bearded dragon “painted” by me to look like Toothless? Click here. (And I love Anne McCaffrey too. Who doesn’t?! 😀 )]

Biggest challenge facing writers today?

I think discoverability is our biggest challenge – especially for those of us that are fairly new to the party.

How can we meet that challenge?

The publishing world changes constantly and it is important to be a part of groups and organizations that can help us stay on top of the latest developments. I think it’s also very important that we authors support each other. Thank you for all of the opportunities you provide, Jill.

My pleasure, Izzy. I’ve really enjoyed connecting with, and learning more about, all of the authors I’ve hosted here. Thank you for the interview and for sharing your pictures!

Published by

Jill Archer

Jill Archer is the author of the Noon Onyx series, genre-bending fantasy novels including DARK LIGHT OF DAY, FIERY EDGE OF STEEL, WHITE HEART OF JUSTICE, and POCKET FULL OF TINDER.

4 thoughts on “Five Photographs: Isabella (Izzy) Norse

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.