My guest today is Claudia Blood, who’s shares her five writer’s life photos. Welcome, Claudia!


Something that represents something unique about you

This is a picture of 3.5 D&D books, dice, and a dice mat.

I’ve been playing D&D for most of my life. I started in the third grade when my Dad was the DM. THAC0 is a great way to practice math. (THAC0 – To Hit AC 0)

All the good boyfriends (and husband) played. I didn’t have any female friends that played and, in fact, I was told once a female D&D player was a mythical beast (horn not included).

I brought up D&D on the first date with my husband. Shockingly enough, he thought admitting to still playing D&D was not chick magnet material. Little did he know who he was dealing with.

Twelve years later, we host D&D parties every four to six weeks at our place. My husband has been playing with some of the people for 30+ years. One of them travels six hours to attend. We start at about noon and end – well, we have gone to two or three o’clock in the morning. Okay, that was pre-kids.

Even without the super late nights, there is still so much food and laughter.  (Did I mention food?) And I finally have a couple other women that play. How cool is that?

Something that represents where you live

Minnesooota. (with accent) Land of 10,000 lakes and snowy winters. This was taken out of my back window in the middle of a storm that dropped a foot of snow. My daughter had school the next day.

It was that same winter that we hit -20 in the morning. I was on a conference call with my day job with a mix of people from Texas and Minnesota. Having a new kindergartener who had to be at the bus stop right after the call, I asked them if I should walk her to the bus stop or drive her to school. The Texans all asked why there was school. And the Minnesotans said to bundle her up and walk.

We walked.

That’s Minnesota for you.

Your pet(s) or plant(s) or thing you care for (besides your human family/friends)

This is Daisy. There are organizations in Minnesota that go down to southern kill shelters and bring back animals. Daisy had been an owner surrender in Tennessee. I set up the appointment to see her, but the only time they could meet was when the kids and I were away. My hubby met her and liked her, but wanted to talk about it with me before we committed. The guy told my husband to take Daisy home for a trial.  Well, you know how that goes. Two years later we are glad we got her.

I am guessing that the previous owners gave her up because she was high energy. Which is not a problem in our household. What we did not expect was how good she is with the kids. This is a picture of when my daughter decided that Daisy needed to have a dress, a sweater, and a head scarf. Maybe for the cold Minnesota winters.

Something (not someone) that really frustrates you

My driveway combined with ice. Yes, I live in Minnesota, but we used to get more snow than ice. The last couple years we’ve gotten more ice than normal. I then have an-even-with-parking-brakes-on-slide-into-the-cable-box kind of driveway.

Fun fact, it is possible for a car to slide down a drive way in such a way to be parallel parked at the end when it is done. Who knew?

Something that brings you joy (besides writing)

Knickknacks. I love art dolls and paintings and books. This is a picture of one of my book shelves with some of my art dolls. It’s a good thing I don’t have any talent creating dolls, or I would be surrounded my a small army (or two) of art dolls.  Etsy is like crack. There are some crazy cool artist out there.

Interview

What are you working on now?

Book of Secrets

Three hundred years ago the human world and the world of Myth merged in a cataclysmic event. Head of the Human Protection Agency, Joshua Lighthouse, is obsessed with three things: ignoring his psychic powers, catching a supernatural serial killer, and a picture of the human he is meant to love. That is if he can find her.

Serene of the Pack is on the run. Framed for the arson of the HPA research labs, she will stop at nothing to get justice for her murdered Pack. Even seducing Joshua, the man in charge of the organization she blames.

When Joshua’s investigation uncovers a plot to UnMerge the worlds, he is betrayed and hunted and alone. His only possible allies are those creatures of Myth he used to hunt, and Serene, the woman from his picture.

Can two sworn enemies join together to defeat evil and not lose their hearts?

What are you currently reading?

The Writer’s Journey – Christopher Vogler. I have P.C Hodgell’s latest, The Gates of Tagmeth, sitting in queue next. My TBR is embarrassingly long with a busted queue system.

What are you currently watching (TV shows)?

I have a four and six year old, so a “Pup named Scooby Doo”.

Favorite fantasy creature, villain, or weapon not from your own work?

The creatures in Fantastic Beasts were wonderful. I love monsters. I still like to peruse the D&D monster manual.

Biggest challenge facing writers today?

Writer’s ADD. I can somehow use three hours looking at writing stuff on the internet. I hop from writing blog posts, to writing Pinterest, to writing FaceBook groups, to writing emails, to articles about stuff I will someday add to a story. (You may see some Etsy, Kickstarter and … okay back to writing)

It is all a distraction from focusing on putting words on the page.

How can we meet that challenge?

Internet free writing time. I guess I could put parental controls on the internet and give my husband the password.


Thank you for sharing your pictures and thoughts, Claudia. I enjoyed hearing about your WIP and life in Minnesota. Best wishes!